TechTip#2 – Viewing Images on Camera

I have to confess, this is a thing I didn’t know about for probably a couple of months, and figured out by accident/fiddling one day. So I thought to save someone else the embarrassment of confessing the same thing, here is how you navigate your image while viewing on the screen on the back of the camera.

40D back

To view images press the PLAY button (circled on bottom left below the screen.

To scroll through the images use the jog/dial

To zoom into the image – press Zoom In (marked on diagram above – Zoom Out is to the left of it)

Here is the tricky bit – say the bit you want to view isn’t in the center of the screen – how do move the picture to that area?

This is my process:

– press Zoom In maybe once or twice (if you go in all the way it can take ages to find exactly the right spot as you are viewing a much smaller proportion of the image)

– navigate using the Toggle as you would a joystick !

Thats it! Too simple and yet it took me ages to figure that one out LOL

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners, Tech Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TechTip#2 – Viewing Images on Camera

  1. forkboy says:

    I don’t know if you already know this, but if you select Play and then press the Zoom Out button (to the left of the Zoom In button) it will change your LCD display to show more than one photo at a time.

    This way you can quickly zip through lots of pictures when you’re hunting for one in particular. This is quite handy when you are using larger memory cards, like an 8GB.

    • lensaddiction says:

      See! so far everytime I have posted one of these tips someone comes along and tells me a NEW thing about it that I didn’t know.

      I have done this by mistake but not realised at the time 🙂 So thankyou for this – I have a 16GB card and yes it takes over 1000 pix!

  2. forkboy says:

    I limited myself to an 8GB card (always shooting RAW gives me about 450 images) so that I don’t wind up with too many photos to go through at any given time.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

