TechTip#3 – The Fiddly Bits

This is a reminder to remember the fiddly bits. Things like

– checking and tightening tripod plate screws
– checking and tightening filters
– checking you have a spare charged battery
– checking the wear and tear on the straps on your bag
– cleaning your tripod now and then
– cleaning the inside of your bag
– checking lenses for dirt when changing over (both the glass and the seals)
– have ID in your bag (in case of leaving it somewhere silly)
– pack sunscreen and some basic first aid supplies

I noticed when putting a lens cap back on that the filter was a bit loose, and when I checked further, dust had crept in underneath and it took me ages to get it all clean again.

And these are other things I have thought about as I have been doing several of them recently

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners, Tech Tips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to TechTip#3 – The Fiddly Bits

  1. forkboy says:

    A good list of things to do on a regular and sometimes frequent basis.

    I’d add another too: reset your camera to default settings before starting a new shoot.

    I can’t tell you the number of times I have set my camera in a particular way, forget such, and then go for a shoot whereby the current settings are best and I forget to make changes accordingly. I’ve tried to get into the habit of resetting to default and then set my camera for the new shoot.

    Also, having a tag or something in your bag is always a good idea, but what if you leave your camera somewhere and it isn’t in the bag? I know we’re less likely to leave our camera behind than the bag, but things happen.

    What I did (and I read this somewhere so I cannot take credit for it) was to go to a local pet supply store that offered one of those dog/cat tag makers and selected a small, round tag and engraved my name and phone number. I then attached it to my camera at the strap point using one of those split rings (like the ones that usually come with the tag). It jingles when I’m out taking pictures, but I’d rather jingle and have my camera marked in hopes anyone who finds it would contact me.

    • Katrina says:

      Writing your contact information on a piece of paper then taking a picture of the paper and leaving that picture in the camera is another way to let people know where to contact you. It has the advantage of allowing you to easily add temporary contact info when you’re travelling but the disadvantage of being less obvious.

      • lensaddiction says:

        I like the photographing your contact details but I would forget and keep deleting the picture I think.

        That reminds me – some suggested you get a photo taken of you with all your gear and keep it somewhere online – so that you can PROVE that it was yours at some point and that you had it. And also photographing serial numbers of lenses and keeping online as well (online so that if your PC disappears the data is still available)

        Totally loving these extra ideas, I’m learning more and more!

    • lensaddiction says:

      I like the metal tag idea – there are probably plastic ones that are a bit quieter

      And yes totally agree with the ‘check your settings before you shoot’ – I forgot to do that one day and shot at ISO 1000 on a bright sunny day for no reason 😦

  2. forkboy says:

    Well if I’m in for a penny I may as well be in for a Pound.

    Check this out…

    http://www.dailygifblog.com/2009/12/how-to-avoid-camera-loss.html

    Just click on the picture to start the show.

    You can actually save these files in a different manner so that you don’t delete them.

    Enjoy!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

