Kiteboarders and Shutterspeeds

Close to where I live is the Estuary, which is a favourite spot for various waterbased sports, yachting, windsurfing etc. It seems a very popular spot for kiteboarders as I often see the kites swirling through the air as I am driving down the long straight road to home.

I got out a couple of weekends ago, and yesterday to finally shoot some of the kiteboarding action. I had wanted to try to get a shot where the boarder was in focus but the shutterspeed was just long enough that I got a bit of motion blur on the background.

So I went out today with the aim of seeing if I could get that shot. On some advice started at 1/30th of a sec but it didnt seem quite right but unfortunately when I changed it I went SLOWER not faster, and it went to all sorts of custard 🙂

But I learned lots of new stuff, and had fun. Am totally totally loving my 70-200 lens, its made of 7 different kinds of *awesome*

No Officer, I did not see that bird floating in the surf

Wave Swirl

This is the best motion blur shot of the day, ALL of it is blurred but I liked the effect, especially on the water

Water Spray

I will try again next weekend if the weather and wind obliges, but this time I will go up to 1/40th of a sec or a bit faster again, and keep trying till I get it as best I can 🙂

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, For Beginners, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kiteboarders and Shutterspeeds

  1. wirehunt says:

    To get what your after Rose you would want someone surfing parallel to you so you can pan and get the motion that way.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

