Dipping my toe in the Pro end of the pool

I have had a few requests or offers from people to pay me for some of the photos I have taken of their offspring, or some other images. Enough that I decided to think a bit about it and do some research. Which has taken quite some time to fully address.

However I decided the initial cost outlay for a years subscription to Zenfolio and some business cards was an acceptable cost, and if anyone does decide to pay me for any images them I will be astonished and delighted!

My Zenfolio website is here

I am only dipping my toe in the pool, looking for options where I can shoot, upload and let people purchase digital files online, which they can then get printed if they desire.

Being in NZ and the website being based (and the printing services) in the US it is not practical to offer printing over the website, tho I could do it myself if need be.

I had a great deal of difficulty coming up with what I felt were the ‘right’ prices for my images. Given I am still an amateur and still learning, I don’t want to overprice myself, but I also don’t want to give it away either, in the instance of having a good quality image, then I want it to stand on its own merit of being worthy of a certain amount of financial outlay. It would have been nice to have had this discussion with some peers but they all seem to hold their cards close to their chest about what they charge for some reason.

Ultimately this is an experiment. I am expecting to make little or no return on it financially. There is hope that someone somewhere finds an image I have created worthy of purchase but I am not going to lose any sleep over it. Any unlikely profits will go towards more camera gear OF COURSE!!!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dipping my toe in the Pro end of the pool

  1. Craig says:

    Welcome to my last year and a bit of dilema 🙂

    People ask how much.. I tell em no idea, and often end up giving them away for ego inflation 😦

    On worst critics.

  2. forkboy says:

    Best of luck with this additional endeavor. You will have to keep us illuminated as to how it goes.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

