There is nothing worse than an awesome sunset about to happen and you have NO CAMERA

I hate daylight savings. I wish we stayed on summer time all the time, and I truly don’t understand why we bother in this day and age.

The main reason why I am so frustrated with daylight savings is it has moved the sunset forward an hour, so at this time of year its happening 5.30-6pm ish. Barely enough time to get home and grab camera let alone drive to a good spot, walk to where I need to be and setup.

I moved into a new building at work today, our whole team moved to be with the Sales team. And I happened to get a window seat that looks north and has a good view of the sky, and I could see the norwester clouds starting to stack up and get all chunky and defined, and be *perfect* for a sunset shot.

And. My. Camera. Is. In. The. Shop.

Being sensor cleaned. First one ever and Im a bit nervous, pick it up tomorrow.

But I was quietly wailing and gnashing my teeth at the lovely sunset I could see happening 2 hours beforehand, and I wasn’t able to shoot it. I guess that makes me an addict 🙂

Oh and did I mention that sunrises (never my fave time of day) are also an hour earlier?

I wonder if I can get onto the roof of our new building, its 10 floors…….?

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There is nothing worse than an awesome sunset about to happen and you have NO CAMERA

  1. forkboy says:

    That’s why you need two cameras!

    After my first year of dSLR ownership I purchased a used Canon Rebel XTi (I think it’s called the 400D around the rest of the globe).

    I was very uncomfortable with the idea of leaving my expensive 40D and lenses in my car, but hated missing photographic opportunities that came along while I was out and about in my car.

    The used Rebel and a pair of lenses give me the chance to be ready at any time for a minimum investment.

    • lensaddiction says:

      They had a 400D and lens for $595 which I seriously thought about for a bit 🙂

      Maybe next year.

  2. forkboy says:

    While another dSLR would be ideal, why not a small JPEG shooting point-n-shoot? Something must be better than nothing!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Can I confess to being a bit of a camera snob now – ie if I want to get a particular quality of shot, I know that a P&S isnt going to cut it so I would rather miss out than take an average shot?

      I have my trusty S3IS but its not the same! Might be different if I had a better version of that, but thats money I could be spending on my ……precious …..

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

