Clean and shiny and broke

My camera has returned from its first ever cleaning. And except for one stubborn bit of dirt the sensor appears to be much cleaner than it was. And at a cost of $60 Im happy with that.

I can cope with one bit of dirt that clings on 🙂

And in an attempt to ensure that my sensor stays much cleaner, today I invested in a new camera bag. I was going to get a Lowepro CompTrekker AW but they are discontinued!

But the nice man at the shop pointed me in the direction of the MicroTrekker – which was on SPECIAL for $169!

– its the same height as my current bag
– it fits in all my gear with room for expansion
– it has loops/pouch for a tripod which my old bag didnt
– its got a roomy pocket in the front for stuff
– its green/black and quite smart (and is now minus the logo on the back)

In converstation, I mentioned I had intentions of getting a 100-400mm (so making sure it would fit in the bag) and it was noted that they had a second hand 1.4x converter for a very good price. I knew that, I had seen it on the website.

But someone made a mistake on the price in the shop, it was $50 cheaper than the online price ($449) So I agonised over it for a while, but if I got the extender then I still get good use out of my 70-200, and I might not be able to afford the 100-400 for a while……

So yes I bought it as well. And am taking money out of my holiday account to pay for it. So will be eating a lot of toast for the next little while…….

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clean and shiny and broke

  1. forkboy says:

    I could use a larger camera bag as my 100-400mm won’t fit into my current backpack-styled bag.

    I too have looked at the 1.4x and 2.0x converters. I figure they are an affordable way to really boost either my 70-200 or the 100-400mm.

    My only concerns are the loss of auto-focus (lens must be at least f/2.8 or faster) and the step-down in light. But in bright & sunny conditions I think it could be a great thing to have.

    You’ll have to let us know how it goes with your 1.4x.

    • lensaddiction says:

      havent had a chance to play yet but I am out shooting a puppy in a couple of weekends, so hopefully have an opportunity then

      Will almost only ever be using it in bright conditions for the range for animals or birds from a distance. If it doesnt work for me I can always sell it on 🙂

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

