Night shooting

Yes I am still alive and apologise for my lack of posts. I am about to go on holiday for two weeks starting next week, and even better, during that time I am flitting over to Melbourne for Worldcon! – leaving the ever patient flatmate with the house to himself while I am away.

So have been busy at work making sure I have caught up enough so that my coworkers covering for me don’t end up being driven to GBH on my return πŸ™‚

I have been out with the camera on a couple of occasions, and its been out at night time which is a new first for me. The first evening was a really thick fog, and I ended up dragging the flatmate along at 11pm at night while I drove round a bit looking for the right spot to shoot. I ended up stopping on the edge of the estuary round the corner from here.

We dont get a lot of lingering fog in the evenings and this was the thickest I remember seeing for a while.

And on Tuesday night I left work about 6.30pm to walk out to see the full moon out on a gloriously clear night. So I drove home, got changed into some warm layers, and heaved the camera into the car and drove back into town.

I wanted to get a shot of the moon with the Cathedral – its probably the most photographed building in Christhchurch. I didn’t have the lens to do it justice unfortunately. However I did also spend time trying more creative angles to shoot the building, and experimented with some auto exposure bracketing so I could try out some new HDR software

Along the way I saw a couple of guys struggling to set up a DSLR with a reasonably chunky lens on a tabletop tripod, so loaned them mine. Got to play with a 10-22 in exchange and had a lovely chat with a couple of nice guys who were on their way home after a weeks skiing, and enjoying the fine evening walking around with their camera πŸ™‚

Then I went out to the pier and got more shots with pretty lights. It was really windy out there, and a lot were spoiled due to movement during the long exposures but I got some sharp ones. Haven’t had a chance to edit those yet.

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Night shooting

  1. dvdcheok says:

    very nice nice photorgraphs and have a wonderful holiday.. πŸ™‚

    • lensaddiction says:

      thankyou – I just had a quick look at your site, you have some lovely bird shots πŸ™‚ I am always envious of people in tropical places with the most exotic birds to shoot.

  2. forkboy says:

    I commented about how wonderful is the fog picture over on Flickr. Coming here only reinforces my feelings about it.

  3. forkboy says:

    Heard about the quake this afternoon.

    Hope you and yours are safe, sound and secure.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

