Roller Derby – my first time

I have been wanting to go see Roller Derby for a while but due to changes in Christchurch post quake, everything has been a bit difficult. But I finally got a chance to go last night. I really enjoyed it and we were lucky to get good seats from a photography point of view. It was indoors and fluoro lighting and my 70-200 F4 IS L struggled a bit even with the ISO cranked up to 800 (I *never* would have gone that high on the 40D) and the 7D performed far better than the 40D would have in the same conditions. I decided to work on my panning technique rather than flash so I could get the movement blur going on. Mostly I just got the blur, but I had fun, and got some shots I like and it was a great learning experience.

There were pro shooters on the floor with flash and 600mm lenses (big white Canon ones) but I worked a lot harder for the good shots I got ๐Ÿ™‚ The girls were great, really gutsy, totally went for it, thrills and spills all over the place. If you haven’t been I highly recommend it!

RollerDerby2011ED-0824

RollerDerby2011EDblueteam2-0541Weird Ghost Girl effect looks like a double exposure

RollerDerby2011ED-0715

RollerDerby2011ED-0614Panning when it works, looks good

RollerDerby2011EDfall1-0693This does not end well

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roller Derby – my first time

  1. green_knight says:

    The top photo is fantastic. And now I want to go somewhere I can try panning.

    On my Pentax K200, I’m happy to go up to 1600 ISO, because the noise level is still acceptable.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks, that top photo is the one thats getting the most comments and feedback (I think its the cleavage personally LOL). It was a really good learning experience. I would like to go back and have another go now I kinda have a better idea of the process and how I need to setup my camera. Car racing and windsurfing are other good panning opportunities ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Craig says:

    Thems ma girls! lol. Me and Ivan are the usual shooters but were both in aussie. The guy you saw with the massive lens, was actually a press photographer I suspect. As Kirk was there. Most of us just have 200 or 300s

    https://www.facebook.com/deadendderby

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

