How cute are these puppies?

A friend who used to work with me got herself some puppies recently. We have a lot in common being single professional women, with a mortgage and a couple of cats each. And a thing for gardens, although her house is smaller than mine (something I didn’t think was possible as mine is quite small), her section is HUGE with mature fruit trees and lots of room and potential. So some faithful canine company must have seemed like a good idea.

I admit I am not much of a dog person, I appreciate them for what they are, but compared to cats, they are too dependent. Needing to be walked and cleaned up after, and having everything smell of dog is not my thing. I much prefer having everything I own covered in very long white cat hair instead πŸ™‚

Of course I volunteered to go out with my camera and take some photos, and was greeted by not two but THREE puppies. Apparently the runt of the litter had caught G’s eye, and a week after picking up her first two, she went back for him. And OMG they are absolutely ADORABLE! and tiny! and full of amazing puppy energy πŸ™‚

GabbyPuppy-2438Meet Daisy, Boomba and Rusty

Daisy is the girl and her coat is longer and fluffier than the boys, and paler as well. They are half Bichon Friese, and half Wirehaired Miniature Daschund.

Gabbypuppy-2422Daisy

Rusty has the shortest hair of the three and is smaller, but he is getting lots of handfeeding and attention, and when I went back a month later had grown noticeably and filled out a lot.

GabbyPuppy-2456Rusty

It was a challenging situation to shoot for several reasons:

Indoors – I opted for that as it was very windy and way too bright outside, but inside down at floor level was dimmer than I expected, so my ISO was up around 1000
Puppy energy – they hardly paused in their mad bouncing around, it was difficulty to get good unblurred shots, even with higher ISO
Obstacle course – as soon as I lay down to shoot they came bounding over, climbing all over my back and head, licking my face and trying to get to the camera. I had to be rescued a couple of times πŸ™‚

Still it was loads of fun and I got a couple of quite nice shots. I look forward to going back again and having another go, maybe outside with some better background opportunities and room to use my 70-200 – its very fast and good for moving shots.

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, For Beginners, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How cute are these puppies?

  1. peter says:

    Okay…Im not a dog person either (sadly my wife is) but I have to admit they’re pretty cute, Great shot of Daisy

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks, the shot of Daisy is my favourite as well. The other thing I forgote to mention is how *tiny* they are which just adds to the cuteness factor πŸ™‚

  2. maximegousse says:

    Lots of fun πŸ™‚

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

