Food Photography – The Macaron

Over at Cate’s Cates she had a go at making the wonderful and delicious Macaron. They are a challenge even for the experienced cook, and I have to confess, I have not been brave enough to try.

Also, there is a lovely place here in Christchurch that makes them, and I got some photograph and then NOM NOM NOM. Unfortunately by the time I got home I just caught the last of the daylight, but here are my photos, having learnt from my first try with the chocolates

Macaron-3726

Macron-3732

Macron-3735

Macron-3747

Macron-3749

(EDIT: I forgot to tell you the delicious flavours – White is Vanilla, Pink is Rose, Dark Brown is Salted Chocolate, Other Brown is Sea Salt Caramel and the Half Crimson is Cherry Cheesecake)

The background was dictated by where the sun was (and I had about 5 min before it moved too far) but I tried to make it as clear as possible. I used a large mostly white dinner plate, had to put it up on a big container so it got the light.

Every shot except the last one with the bite in it was natural light, the last one I used the popup flash.

What did I learn?

FFS be organised and get home in time to actually set up properly
Listen to feedback
Move the camera back a bit to get it to focus better
Most of these were F5 or F4, being very rounded 3D objects I could have gone possibly down to F6 to get the group shots in better focus

So how did I do this time round? Shot with 7D and 50mm F1.8.

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Food Photography – The Macaron

  1. Catherine says:

    Oh, yum! They look delicious. I especially like the pink one on its side – there’s something about really close up food photos that makes them very beautiful. I also like the play of sun and shadow in the first one.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thankyou, you made me realise I forgot to put the flavours in, I will edit the post now. The pink one is rose and one of my two most fave flavours.

      I particularly like these macarons as they have very strong and identifiable flavour and are not overpoweringly sweet. I had my first one in Melbourne a couple of years ago and it was so sweet it was inedible, and I had no idea what the fuss for these was about. Now I have had real ones I understand 🙂

  2. mississhippi says:

    You could have a bit more fun with the reflections on the plate as well as the food – some of them look so sharp, pity they were cut off, but sometimes we don’t see those things until after and the light is gone :). Maybe you also need some sort of backdrop, even if it is just some foam core board in white that will reflect some of the natural light back onto the food or black to give a contrast. I think my favourites are the two single macarons, especially the one with the bite out of it and those few crumbs off to the right. (Is there a small spot that is out of focus on the front right side of the biscuit? The rest seems really sharp)

    If you keep doing food photos with all this delicious food I’m going to get hungry!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thankyou, I noticed the reflections myself, and moved them further back to take advantage, but not quite far enough, the front curve of the plate was in the bottom of the shot, hence why they are cropped.

      I am going to invest in a large flat white ceramic tile, and a black one to give a nice flat reflective surface.

      Yes the macaron with the bite in it was shot with a narrower DOF than it was, hence that out of focus area. As the light was fading I was forced to a wider open aperture, which gives less DOF.

      More reason to be more organised next time. I will buy other flavours.

      • khavrinen says:

        You could also have bumped up the ISO, if you wanted to maintain the broader DOF. The 7D is reputed to be relatively good at controlling noise at higher ISO levels, and since this one says it was shot at ISO 100, you’ve got lots of room to play with. Another option would be using a tripod or similar support so you can use a longer exposure without worrying about camera shake. It’s not like you’d have to worry about your subject moving when you’re taking pictures of food — if you do, I’m not sure I want to know what you’re eating…

      • lensaddiction says:

        No wiggling food here (or its certainly STOPPED wiggling by the time eating has come about LOL) Good point with the ISO, if I hadn’t been so flustered with trying to get the shots before I lost the light, I would quite probably have remembered this!

        I confess, because I prefer to shoot on lowest ISO, a habit from using my 40D, I often forget to changed it when I should.

      • mississhippi says:

        if nothing else it is a good excuse to eat more macarons! lol

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

