Photography – what have I learned in the last 3 years?

I am hoping I have learned something more about photography since I first bought my DSLR kit. That was nearly three years ago and I have been blogging my experience as I go. But *have* I learned anything? Is my composition better? Do I judge the light better? I know that having better kit is just a more expensive way of making average photos, but have I improved?

So here is what I want to do. Once a week I will post up an old image and assess and analyse it. Something along the lines of

– Kit I was using to take the image
– My level of experience at the time
– Thoughts on the quality of the image, composition, timing, processing, image quality
– What I would do differently now
– Does it still stand out as a good image 2 or 3 years later?

What I need help with is better questions for the assessment – what specifically makes a good image?

What questions should I be asking to help me learn and grow as a photographer?

Fishermans Footsteps

Taken in 2006 in Kaikoura with my Canon S3IS – in Oct about two weeks after I first bought the camera πŸ™‚

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Photography – what have I learned in the last 3 years?

  1. Carolyn Collins says:

    Wow so similar to one of mine, which I love, taken 2009. Like to see it?

  2. Great idea! So, I like the composition on this one. The light treatment left a little to be desired. Could have been sharper but that’s most likely the kit not you. I’ve been doing a little of this myself, though not publicly. I’ve found a few (very few) gems but mostly I;ve been able to see the degree to which I really have improved over the years. We have an advantage here over say a novelist. Certainly wouldn’t want to have to re-read all the books I had written. πŸ™‚

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thankyou, yes I like the composition on this too, but now I would get lower and put the footsteps more in the foreground. And not chop it so tight in the bottom RH corner. Its taken on a very bright morning, now I would possibly put on the circular polariser, either way crank the exposure down a few notches. As a composition I think it still works, the footsteps lead your eye into the picture and across the mountains πŸ™‚

      Its one of the first photos I took that I still quite like, will post up the other one from the same morning next πŸ™‚

      • Bronny says:

        Thats one thing I’ve learnt too, getting down lower, and alot of the time I’m lying on the ground to get that shot, and I don’t feel silly either πŸ™‚

  3. mississhippi says:

    I like the image and the place! I agree about the light, must have been very bright. I don’t know enough myself about photography to offer c much in the way of constructive assessment, but I’ll enjoy sharing your journey as you work through your images. I may also learn something! πŸ™‚

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks, a lot of composition is aesthetic, so everyone has a valid opinion there. Its a game for all players πŸ™‚

  4. khavrinen says:

    “Thoughts on the quality of the image, composition, timing, processing, image quality”

    One thing to consider about this list is that processing is the one area where you can always have a second chance ( or third, fourth, etc. ) to get it right, as long as you keep a copy of your un-processed originals. For instance, you might consider playing with the “Tone Curve” adjustment in Lightroom, to darken the washed out look of the mountains, or pulling the “Blacks” slider to the left.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thankyou, yes processing is definately where you can improve an image. These shots (and many of the coming ones) were taken before I had Lightroom, and before I shot RAW, and therefore before I had researched and learnt more about image processing.

      What I *should* do (and thanks for giving me the idea) is dig out the original image and run it through LR now and see what improvements it makes πŸ™‚

  5. Tara says:

    I’ve been doing the same – both comparing the photographs I took and looking at how I might edit them differently. I like this and might have shot something similar as well πŸ™‚

    I think now you might drop down low and try and decrease that stark white light?

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

