Is this Grafitti or Art?

Closeup of the Dragon

I think it is both, and I have discovered a passion for good grafitti wall art or street art. I am not sure what the proper term is, so I am going with grafitti art (and covering all my bases).  I first discovered the good stuff in Melbourne, which has opened my eyes to local installations. This is one that popped up not long after the Feb22 earthquake, in one of the more damaged areas.  I suspect the wall became available when the house in front of it was demolished.

There is a certain irony in the creation of art out of destruction, something that our city is learning to explore, with the help of the Gapfiller people.  I don’t know who did this art or why, but it is very cool and I wanted to share it with you.

Full view of the whole image

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Is this Grafitti or Art?

  1. Bronny says:

    What a stunning artwork it is. I would call this art, and I’m sure the artist calls it art, Cetainly alot more pleasing on the eye than alot of Grafitti I have seen. Great imagination too

    • lensaddiction says:

      It is stunning and in the middle of nowhere in Edgeware. Unless I had seen a shot someone else had taken and asked them where it was, I never would have seen it. I think its a shame it won’t be more appreciated

  2. peter says:

    This one is awesome, and there are many many such art works showing up all over the city, which is great.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes I have a collection of a few pre and post quake that I need to get around to processing…

  3. silvercat17 says:

    Seeing as I’m a giant nerd, I have to point out that that’s The Lizard from Spiderman. The original comic version.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

