How to Photograph Sound?

How to take a visual image of something you can only hear?  Not a concept I had given much thought to until I bought a photography magazine that had an amazing article on that very thing.

Take one large speaker + a flexible membrane + lots of coloured paint + camera = AMAZING paint splash photos

Photograph by Lindend Glendhil

Doing some research online I see its also called Sound Painting

http://www.petapixel.com/2012/02/14/sound-painting-photographs-with-paint-and-speakers/

http://www.petapixel.com/2012/02/23/how-to-shoot-sound-painting-photos-with-paint-and-a-speaker/ 

http://www.bitrebels.com/design/dancing-paint-high-speed-water-photography/

Image by Linden Gledhill

The above image is now my desktop image on my computer, I love it SO MUCH – this and all the other fabulous shots Linden took are here

http://www.flickr.com/photos/13084997@N03/sets/72157608258335431/

Someone in a forum I posted in about this subject suggested doing the same sort of thing but with hundreds and thousands, or the silver dragee balls, which I thought was brilliant.  So much safer and less messy than lots and lots of paint. And cheaper too.

I would *love* to try experimenting with this, but I don’t have a garage that I could setup to do it in, nor do I have a speaker or the other bits and pieces you need to really get the good shots.  Man it would be awesome fun tho!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to Photograph Sound?

  1. minayamini says:

    Aaahhh thats amazing … but agree with you that I probably wouldnt be able to do it myself … not in my apartment currently … what with 2 cats running around it would probably be a disaster waiting to happen!

  2. Vipul says:

    Wow,.,,,, its really great and innovative one…

    Pls let me know what can i use for flexible membrane…

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

