Does the new header image stay or go?

Got bored with the duck family as my header image, but it is quite hard to find a good one to suit a long narrow space.  You may have noticed I had some clouds up for a bit, but they didn’t do much for me either.

I haven’t blogged about it yet but I got myself a new toy a few weeks ago, a light tent!  I have been experimenting with my favourite subject, you guessed it, macarons 🙂  They are colourful and pretty and when you are done you can eat them 🙂

I had done this shot without much forethought and realised after it might suit a blog header image size and I was right.  Whaddaya think?  Should I keep it?

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Does the new header image stay or go?

  1. Ruth says:

    Macarons are extremely popular (and also an extortionate price!) over here in France. I’ve acquired a French recipe for them, so must get cracking, make some and also take some photos.
    Did you make the ones you photographed? The colours are superb!

    • lensaddiction says:

      No I confess these are bought ones, there is a lovely place in CHCH that makes them, and they are pretty fantastic. The first ones I tried were in Melbourne and were so sweet to be inedible.

      I have not yet been brave enough to try making them yet. I understand they take quite a lot of time and preparation. I have the gear, but time has been a bit of an issue this year. Soon……

  2. I have to admit that I’m not much of a macaroon fan but the header image is a good choice and an excellent replacement of the ducks. I’ll bet if you gave a go at whitening the background area the color would pop even more than it does now.

    I have a WordPress blog myself and I think they have a widget available that allows you to create a header slideshow. Slideshows are tailor-made for those of us who can’t quite decide.

    I guess the absolute best part of shooting macaroons is once the shoot is over you get to eat the subjects.

    • lensaddiction says:

      OK had a play with the image and tried to whiten the background and generally brighten it up a bit, upped the exposure, and highlights, and changed the colour temp down a bit so its hovering in that wierd space between yellow and blue. Better? And thanks for the constructive feedback 🙂

      I can play random slideshow images, I just dont have that many that suit that particular crop, its a challenge!

  3. Tara says:

    I like the macaroons too – however I agree with Richard’s suggestion of a little light processing.
    Now I’m hungry.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

