Planning my first trip to Europe

I have been to Australia several times but the furtherest afield I have been was Hawaii nearly 20 years ago.  I have long wanted to travel further, especially Europe and a few years ago opened a Travel Savings account in another bank (so I couldn’t touch it).  Its now getting to the stage that if I want to go in the next year or two I need to start planning!

Grand European 25 day Tour

This is the trip I am planning on doing with Globus and the map is above.

Yes there are cheaper ways of going but I want to go and see as much of everything as I can, find the bits I liked the most and plan to go back and see them at a later date, cheaper and with a longer stay.

I really like the idea of no fuss travel ie I get up, have my included breakfast buffet, pile onto a bus, see the sights and the countryside, end up at a hotel and rinse wash and repeat.  No drama with travel, getting lost, not knowing the language, having to find your accomodation, wrestling bags, and generally wasting half your precious holiday with non holiday stuff.  Tho some would say thats all part of the overall experience.  I want to see the buildings and museums, eat the food, wander about enjoying the ambience and PHOTOGRAPH EVERYTHING!!!

I may be able to go next year but otherwise it *will* be 2014.  Thats a LOT of anticipation………

 

 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Planning my first trip to Europe

  1. Wow! That’s quite a trip! I’ve been to a few of these places but over the course of the last couple of decades. A lot to take in. I agree with your observation though – having a guide will unquestionably allow you to get the most out of the 25 days. But by the time you get back to NZ you’ll need another 25 days to decompress. 🙂

  2. Tara says:

    How exciting!!
    Can you give yourself a little wiggle room though – for example, if its pouring with rain (very European weather) and you want to just chill in a city so you have an extra day?

    • lensaddiction says:

      No I think you have to stick to the schedule, no matter the weather. Which could be a bummer, but thats the compromise

  3. mississhippi says:

    Make sure you stopover on the way there and back – give yourself some breathing room. It is too long a flight. Hopefully whoever you are flying with has an interesting city to stopover in though 🙂

  4. Fantastic! Lots of time too to do some good research.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

