Spring Means Daffodils and Ducklings

Ducklings

Spring has sprung upon us with a cluster of warm sunny days, and suddenly evidence of the new season is everywhere.  Trees in blossom and bloom, daffodils dancing in the sun, and last weekend I spotted my first ducklings while in Hagley Park at a Quilt show.

I was just about to get into my car and I saw some movement on the grass, as it got closer I saw it was a duck with 5 ducklings heading towards the stream I was parked next too.  I grabbed my camera bag, switched over the lenses so I had my 70-200F4 IS on and carefully climbed down the step and slippery bank so that I could get some shots if the family came my way.

There was a Toi Toi bush in the way so I couldn’t see them but suddenly I could hear ‘peep peep peep peep’ and the family appeared in front of me.  I fired off a couple of shots and they turned away, frightened of the shutter clapping shut.  So I sat and waited patiently and they came back, so I waited til they were closer before I started shooting, and this was my favourite shot of the day.

7D and 70-200 F4 IS lens, 200mm focal length @ F4, ISO400 to account for the shade, 1/250sec shutter speed.

Daffodils will be the next post!

 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring Means Daffodils and Ducklings

  1. That’s just adorable. I really like the duckling climbing over the rock.

  2. mississhippi says:

    Beautiful photo. Their markings are quite beautiful aren’t they.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

