Extra small pinecones

Wandering around Hanmer I found a type of pinetree that had extra small pinecones – only about the size of a chicken egg!

Extra small pinecones

The light was filterd and dappled through the tree branches, so I had some fun shooting different angles and compositions.  Had an added level of difficulty due to enough breeze to make the branches sway a bit.  Thank goodness for very fast camera equipment!

I liked the composition of these all clustered on the branch like barnacles

Finally I was playing with some LR presets I recently purchased and I liked this one that when viewed at a larger size picks up the depths of the textures in the surfaces of the pine cone leaves (petals?)

The monotone colour range focusses your attention on the textures instead

All images taken with the 7D and 70-200F4 IS lens, handheld.  Apertures range from 5.0 to 7.1.  Focal length varies from 100 to 150 mm.  ISO set at 100 as it was a bright sunny day.

 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Extra small pinecones

  1. Carolyn Collins says:

    Stunning, love the bokeh!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Sorry, late in replying to these, yes I really like the 70-200 F4 IS bokeh myself. The 2.8 version is supposed to be even better, but it was too expensive and too heavy for me to get. I love the F4, its my favourite lens

  2. Rob. says:

    Hi, these are Larch cones, not those of a pine. Probably European larch, larix decidua.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Larch

    You’ve made a lovely study of them.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Hey Rob thanks for stopping by my blog and adjusting my ignorance about larches. I did not know what a larch tree looked like at all so I really appreciate the info. I will investigate further!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

