Bluebells as far as the eye could see

Bluebells and snowdrops as far as you can see

Its spring here down under and our climate supplies the conditions that bulbs like, a good cold break over winter, providing a dormant time for the bulb to gather its resources and then burst into glorious flower in spring.  Little Hagley Park is a small wedge of park to the very north that is cut off by road.  It has been significantly underplanted amongst the mature stately trees with many many bluebells, snowdrops and onion flowers and has been flowering non stop for several weeks now.

Pink bells

Late afternoon light was slanting through the trees, filtered through the branches and a light cloud cover when I ventured out to photograph them.  I shot them last year but at the other end of the park.  This end is more basin like, you can see a greater vista sloping up and away from me in the top shot, that is only half of the park and the planting.

Softer light suits these delicate and fragile flowers.  I took care where I stepped not to crush any unecessarily, putting my bag down on the bare land around tree trunks.  I found a large area already flattened so took several shots from there, but the light was at the wrong angle for what I wanted so I ventured further out.

I chose to shoot with my 70-200 F4 IS lens, it was bright enough to use and it has much nicer bokeh than my other lenses, and the focal length gives greater range of options without having to move too often and disturb more flowers.  The zoom ability on a tele lens also give better separation of the subject from the background even when the background is so close like on the above image.  Its a particular effect in the longer lenses that I discovered shooting the bluebells last year.

My favourite image of the trip

This is my favourite image of the outing, I was just about to packup when a ray of sun poked through the clouds, illuminating this tall pink stem.  Love the riot of colours, and I have to confess I like the pink and purple ones the most, and often look for them as the focus of my image.  So this was a perfect composition opportunity for me.  Also really like the long range of focal length, the out of focus foreground, the lit section all in focus and the background fading into the shadows, giving lots of depth.  Lovely soft bokeh in the background as well.

I will always have this reminder of spring and its bounty and promise, even on the coldest dreariest winter day 🙂

All images shot on Canon 7D and 70-200 F4 IS L lens.  Apertures range from 4-7.1.  ISO was set at 100.  Focal lengths vary due to zooming distance to subjects.  Processed in Lightroom 4.2, white balance set to daylight and other adjustments made.

 

 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bluebells as far as the eye could see

  1. peter says:

    I love the “riot of colours”….great line

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks, I can’t take credit for it, am sure I read it somewhere else but it seemed appropriate here 🙂

  2. mmjustus says:

    We have naturalized bluebells in places here, too. I used to have them running wild in the garden I had at my last place. They really do come in a pretty palette of colors.

  3. Carolyn Collins says:

    Utterly fabulous

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

