Weekly Writing Challenge: And Now For Something Completely Different

The other end of the park where the bluebells grow has far less snow drops in it, so it looks a lot more blue. I stopped by last week on a nice bright overcast day to get some photos. I wanted to capture the scale and breadth of the area, and while I was setting up my camera a lady walked into frame and stopped to admire the view, giving a lovely sense of scale to this image. The trees really anchor the middle of the image, balanced by the carpet of bluebells below and the canopy in many shades of green above.

Admiring the view

I love how diminutive she looks next to the trees, some of which are over 100+ years I believe and certainly have an impressive girth. The view looks like it goes on and on, with no realisation there is a road quite close by!

All of the colours

I particularly love the texture in this image. All the different shades of blue and purple with highlights of pink and white bells. The arching texture of the grass weighed down by its seed heads. The round globes of dandelions, as yet undisturbed. It has a real feel of untouched wildness about it, where I know that its a mixture of careful underplanting and weeds making the most of the environment. Yet as a whole it has a serenity and balance not felt with a more formal planting.

Dancing dainty bells

This is my favourite image of the day, the flirtation of the upturned skirts of each individual bell, each small floret contributing to the greater whole like part of a fractal. My inner 6 year old thinks that these are really fairy dresses, waiting for their fairy to fly down, dress herself, and go dancing with all the other fairies on the night of a full moon 🙂

I don’t normally enter the Writing Challenge but as I had already posted bluebell photos I thought I would step up to the mark

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekly Writing Challenge: And Now For Something Completely Different

  1. actually, I think the first photograph wouldn’t have the impact it has without the person in it

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes I agree, I had taken some a couple of weeks earlier with a similar composition and I knew it was lacking something to clarify the scale. So I am really glad I did go back a second time and get this shot!

  2. eof737 says:

    Gorgeous photos… and I enjoyed your post and perspective. 😉

  3. Carolyn Collins says:

    Just besotted with bluebells ( and pink – what are they called then), Thanks for feeding my addiction. Must go and visit this area again, not many out the last time I was there.

    • lensaddiction says:

      I call them pinkbells and whitebells, it makes sense. I think the proper name is Scylla something 🙂 Glad I can feed your addiction!

      • Rob. says:

        They used to be scilla campanulata but the Powers-That-Be(tm) have declared that they are henceforth to be called hyacinthoides non-scripta. Funny how these botanical name changes are always for the worse!

        You folks have it easy, you’re only addicted to photographing them. I’m addicted to planting them as well…! 😉

      • lensaddiction says:

        If I could find a bulk supply at a reasonable price (ie that doesnt cost me hundreds to buy) then I would completely underplant my cherry tree!

  4. Rob. says:

    If you were to dig, sort, count and bag up (say) 1000 bulbs roughly how much would you want for the bulbs – and your work?

    I need to know whether I’m overcharging. 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Oooh I only need a couple of hundred at the most, small city garden but most of the places I have seen sell something like 3 bulbs for $5, which is just prohibitive if I was to do a mass planting.

      • Rob. says:

        Hi.
        Sent an email re: bluebells to the email address given on your flickr account but didn’t get a reply. Presume you either didn’t see it (spam bin?) or thought it was presumptuous of me. If the latter I can only apologise!

      • lensaddiction says:

        I thought I had replied! It was a kind and thoughtful offer and I am currently seeing if any gardening friends want to partake of a bulk purchase and I will confirm numbers with you next week sometime 🙂

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

