Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique

Bell Tower of Christchurch Cathedral

This weeks Photo Challenge is Unique.  I offer up this photo for two reasons.

First reason is the viewpoint, I am standing at the base, pointing the camera up.  When you do that, the camera lens does this weird distortion called ‘converging lines’.  Architecture photographers have special Tilt Shift lenses that adjust to give the straight lines the right angles.  So this is a unique tilted viewpoint.

Second reason this image is unique, is that this part of the building no longer exists.  It was demolished before public outcry caused a halt on further demolition.  But you will never see this particular part of the building again as it was originally built.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique

  1. Ruth says:

    Your colours and clarity are fantastic and I love the angle! I spent many quiet, contemplative hours in the cathedral during some difficult times in my younger days and haven’t been into the centre of Ch-Ch since the earthquakes (I live in France now). Bet I’ll be really shocked when I see it again…
    Thanks so much for sharing this fabulous image.

    • lensaddiction says:

      It is really sad now, I have some photos of what it looks like, only a stub of the base of the tower still stands!

  2. Saba-Thambi says:

    Its a pity that the spire is no more 😦

  3. Peter S says:

    It’s too bad that the cathedral could not be rebuilt, or is that not decided yet ?

    The last I heard, a temporary structure was being built. Is that still the plan ?

    • lensaddiction says:

      Last I heard they were still doing the silly cardboard version. Did you see the glass enclosure idea that was in the paper recently, Bob Parkers idea but I quite liked it.

  4. The warm lighting and colors against the black background look really striking. What a shame the tower is gone.
    Thank you very much for the pingback 🙂

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique | The Panama Adventure

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique « patriciaddrury

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique Candle, Really? | Humbled Pie

  8. Peter S says:

    The Frauenkirche in Dreaden was completely destroyed in WWII. It sat in ruins until it was reconstructed in 2004. I’ve been following the story of the Christchurch, I’m sure I don’t know the whole story, but I wonder why it could not be reconstructed as well.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Peter lots of people are holding up the Dresden building as a classic example, and with international experts offering to help, we are wondering the same thing

  9. rimassolosailingaroundtheworldm says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

