Dandelion flower up close and personal

The humble dandelion is suddenly fascinating under the macro lens – click to embiggen

I recently received my 100mm F2.8L IS USM macro lens from Canon, it has been on order since before Xmas and I have only had a couple of experiments with it.  Turns out that I completely suck at steady hand holding, especially with a surprisingly heavy macro lens on the camera.  So any vaguely sharp shots are more luck than anything else 🙂

Macro has always fascinated me, how a simple every day thing becomes so much more interesting when viewed in up close and personal detail through a macro lens.

Clearly I have a lot of learning to do , how to bring the best in this lens out, good macro techniques and working with a tripod to get sharper shots, so bear with me.  I will post my better shots as I take them so you can see my journey along the way 🙂

I think the curly things are anthers?  Can anyone knowlegeble in botany confirm?

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dandelion flower up close and personal

  1. Elaine says:

    I am saving up my pennies for a macro lens. I love the detail in this pic. I have never looked that closely at a dandelion – who would have thought they looked like that up close!

    • lensaddiction says:

      I know, macro makes the world so amazing because it opens up a world of detail we can’t see with the naked eye. Looking forward to many years of experimenting and having fun, its a gorgeous lens, I was lucky I had a bonus from work so I indulged 🙂

  2. Congrats on the 100L! I’ve been wanting that lens for a while! So even with the IS it’s still hard to get sharp handheld shots?

    • lensaddiction says:

      I find it hard to get sharp handheld shots but I am not spectacularly steady at closeup handheld shots anyway, and the macro just magnifies it.

  3. Beautiful detail. I need to put that lens on my list too. I got the 50mm f1.8 for Christmas and it was hard to adjust at first. Seemed 3 out of 5 shots were blurred. I can’t wait to see more from your macro:-)

    • lensaddiction says:

      Hey Sherri, love the nifty fifty, one of my fave lenses, so versatile and so SMALL 🙂 There will be more macro but I will try not to go overboard and bore you all with it 🙂

  4. Beautiful and full of details.. Would love to see some more click from the same lens.. 🙂

  5. I hope you will post as many macros as you want to share. I am excited to see more of your photos, you do fantastic work.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thankyou, I appreciate the feedback. There is another macro post in the queue over the next day or so 🙂

  6. Amy B. says:

    A macro is next on my list! I love closeups but my “nifty fifty,” as you call it, can only do so much! (Although I love what it does!)

    • lensaddiction says:

      its called the nifty fifty because it is the cheapest canon lens you can get and is a really good buy and a versatile lens. I like to get out in the garden and play with it (pre macro days)

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

