Stone Bench Shadows with Silver Efex

Stone bench converted to BW with Nik Silver Efex – click to embiggen

I saw this stone bench all dappled in sunlight and shadows and thought it had potential to be converted to black and white.Β  Yes I also took advantage of the NIK sale and bought the WHOLE suite for US $149 – I was intially going to purchase Silver Efex and Viveza which was going to cost that much anyway, so I was happy to get the other products included πŸ™‚

Because of my horrible cold this is the first time I have had a real play with it, the above image was processed in Fine Art Process first, a couple of overbright spots were toned down a bit, added a slight vignette and then Agfa 400 film grain just for a touch more texture.

Not usually a fan of film grain but this image works with the texture of the stones. Didn’t get this into this month’s challenge unfortunately but I had fun composing the image in my head while shooting and then working through to completion. This is pretty much what I imagined πŸ™‚

Shot on the 7D with 17-55mm lens at 17mm, ISO100, F5.0 at 1/100 sec handheld and intially processed in LR4 before running through Silver Efex

 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, LR & Photoshop, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stone Bench Shadows with Silver Efex

  1. SkiDaddy says:

    Black and white is something I’ve done very little, except for some candid baby shots. I like the look of it though and your use of it here was great. Some things just naturally lend themselves to B&W don’t they?

    • lensaddiction says:

      I havent played much with BW either but Silver Efex not only makes it easy but fun as well. I agree with you, some things do look better BW πŸ™‚

  2. JaN says:

    I’ve always loved B&W – also a good test for good composition!
    This photo passes beautifully!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

