Weekly Photo Challenge – Up

Up in the High Country looking up at the snow covered peaks – click to embiggen

This Weeks Challenge – Up. Up can be a direction, an orientation, or even a movement.

For this challenge I am up in more than one way.  Physically I am up in the High Country, in the mountains as I drive through Arthur’s Pass coming back from the West Coast.  Then I am looking up at the snow beginning to blanket the peaks covered in cloud and mist.

Finally I am up because taking this shot made me happy, I had been framing up something like this for several hours as I had been driving, but had not come across an opportunity with appropriate foreground.  Also I managed to get the shot from inside my car without getting any rain on the lens to spoil the shot.

Wet, spiky, cold and wild – everything you need to know about our mountains.  Oh and up high too 🙂

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge – Up

  1. Beautiful image, it reminds me of oriental brush paintings

  2. Lovely photo! Love the mist covered mountains!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thankyou, it was a very misty day as I drove through the mountain pass so I have several more misty shots – have a look on my Flickr page.

  3. Pingback: Up, Up, and… well, just Up | Rebecca Barray

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Up! | Cheri Speak

  5. Like it. !the atmosphere reminds me of sodden weekends in North Wales, when we did more pubbing than climbing. On Sunday a friend guided us on a new walk, along and up above the Angle-Guignard reservoir, near Chantonnay, here in the Vendée. http://mysoapboxcorner.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/imgp6063_cropped.jpg?w=45. There are more pics of that walk on the blog. That bee was really funny. I’m sure she was on a hormone high! She was absolutely covered in pollen already, yet she couldn’t get enough of it. She’d come up for air now and again, completely oblivious to my approaching lens, then down she’d go again, head first into the business end of that big, fluffy dandelion! I left her to it, wondering how she was going to manage take-off with all that extra weight.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks, I have never visited Wales but I have certain images in my head that it must be a lot like this (and parts of Ireland and Scotland too)

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Up | wholeyjeans

  7. Dina says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! Wonderful capture.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thankyou, everytime I go for an adventure to a new part of NZ I am reminded just how beautiful it is 🙂

  8. Pingback: weekly photo challenge: up | my sweetpainteddreams

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Up | The Panama Adventure

  10. Pingback: Up, Up, and… well, just Up | Rebecca Barray – Writer/Photographer

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

