Autumn Glory in Arthurs Pass

Autumn colour on the edge of Lake Pearson – click to embiggen

Last weekend I had a photography trip to Tauranga Bay and Cape Foulwind on the West Coast – its about 5 hrs drive from here one way.  Many photos were taken but this is one of my favourites and the last shot I took on the trip.

This is Lake Pearson draped in glorious autumn colour, taken in pouring rain, with the mountains curtained in cloud and mist.

I actually took the shot below first, from inside my car to keep the rain off the camera

But when I looked through the lens I saw that the better shot meant I was going to have to get out of the car and run through the rain *again*.  I had been driving for hours already and stopped many times and got wet and changed clothes and by now I was quite over it.  I wasn’t even going to stop!

But like many of the best shots I have taken, it is the one that you push yourself to take, that you make the extra effort to see the opportunity and stop for it, that is the image that pays off 🙂

Which one do you prefer?

Both images taken with 7D and 17-55mm lens, ISO400 to counteract the dull lighting, F8 and handheld.  Using a lenshood to protect the lens from the rain.  Processed in LR4 and further in Nik Color Efex

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Autumn Glory in Arthurs Pass

  1. Both of them are beautiful but I think I preferred the second one – looking through those remaining leaves into the distance with several layers to explore beyond. That’s really beautiful.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks, thats what caught my eye initially, the looking through the archway of trees to a further dimension 🙂

  2. Leanne Cole says:

    The colours are stunning, shame about the rain. I must try and find some places like this.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks, yes if it hadnt been raining I could have stopped at several other spots and taken many more shots. But it also gave the lovely overcast and misty sky so can’t complain there. Do you have options for deciduous trees?

  3. Rob. says:

    Between the two I’d pick the first. I do wonder what it would’ve been like taken from slightly further back in portrait aspect with the trunk of the tree on the left (from the second shot) framing the left hand side. It’s an artistic shape!

    Rain and mist can add a lot of atmosphere to a photograph. As you say, getting cold and wet is often worth it!

    • lensaddiction says:

      There were some ugly bits on the beach which is why I didnt shoot any portrait options. Edit – sorry was interrupted before I could finish this – there were some freedom campers who had not cleaned up from their nights camping and there was crap all over the foreshore so I had to compose keeping it all out of the way 😦

  4. I so appreciate the tech stuff you included, that truly helps me better understand it. The colors are just gorgeous as are both photos, but I love the second one.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Interesting, the second one is getting its share of the love 🙂 Mind you it was the first composition I saw that caught my eye.

  5. sunmallia says:

    They are both beautiful can’t choose

  6. Photos close to home says:

    Rule of thumb: Always stop and get out of the car when you see something that might work.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yeah well I had been driving for 5 hrs in pouring rain, got very wet already (had to change into dry clothes once so far) and I was a little over it. But I sighed and made one last pull over off the road, and it was worth it!

  7. Jacquelyn says:

    Wow, both of these are amazing. I like the second photo the most, just outstanding!

  8. Katrina says:

    I like both photos. If I had to pick one to hang on my wall, it would be the first. I think the second does a better job of portraying the feel of the place though,

  9. Bea says:

    I love them both. I miss seeing the autumn colours here

  10. Pingback: Autumn Moonrise | I see beauty all around by rob paine

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

