5 years of Photography and Blogging

Apparently yesterday was my 5 year anniversary of starting this blog! I started it after purchasing my first DSLR camera, the trusty Canon 40D and dove head first into trying to learn ALL THE THINGS and quickly started to go a little nuts.Β  The blog was intended as an outlet for sharing my learnings, useful things I thought other beginners might appreciate and of course my images.

So here is a bit of a retrospective, its been a tumultuous 5 years one way or another and I was there with my camera for a lot of it, so here we go:

Shortly after I got my camera gear Spring started to do its thing and I learned that lying in the dirt to get a more intimate angle really works

Saw some Buskers doing odd things to each other

I started to see the world in a different way and discovered fascinating things about my city I hadn’t seen before, like coloured lights on the Pier at night

Somehow seagulls became interesting and photographic instead of noisy and annoying

Tried my hand at longer exposures to capture fireworks

Spent many evenings waiting for a pretty sunset, now and then I got a good show

Visited the Totara Stump Graveyard

Went to Australia (twice) and met the natives

Caught my very first sunrise at Moeraki Boulders

Did some night photography – traded a loan of my tripod to some tourists with a borrow of their wide angle lens for this shot

The above shot was taken a week after the Sept 4 2010 Earthquake, the below image was taken after the Feb 22 2011 earthquake – its the same building

Did some roadtrips to see other parts of the South Island – Herbert Cemetary, Lake Pearson in Arthurs Pass and Catlins

And finally survived the Zombie Apocalypse!

Wow when I look back its been a pretty amazing 5 years with my camera taking me new places and into new experiences!Β  And I posted 312 blog posts as well πŸ™‚

Looking forward to the next 5 years!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 5 years of Photography and Blogging

  1. SAN_jeet says:

    superb set of images

  2. John says:

    And to think I bought you a camera for your 21st birthday and you thought it was such a s*** present! You really have taken some great photos in the last few years.

    • lensaddiction says:

      LOL Im never living that down am I πŸ™‚ It took a long time before I got to the space where I was ready for photography. And to be fair it was a shit camera! I did much better once I had my hands on your Minolta film camera at the time.

  3. Victoria says:

    Really nice post, and stellar shots! Happy Blog-a-versary!

  4. As always, your photos are gorgeous and just perfect. I long for the day I take just one that is useable.

  5. Degies says:

    Can’t wait to see the next 5 years of blogs

  6. Looks and sounds like it has been a great 5 years!

    Tamara

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

