My One Four Challenge Entry Week 1

Robyn from Captivate Me is doing a One Four Challenge and I liked this concept.  Except for doing BW conversions I hardly ever edit an image more than once, so this is challenging me in a new creative way!  (Edit link is now working!)

In Robyn’s words – This new challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.  We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.

First of all here is my RAW unedited image file so you have a basis for comparison 🙂

Raw unedited image, completely unprocessed beyond being imported into LR and then saved as a jpeg

Choosing an image for this challenge was hard for me, I wanted to pick a completely fresh image, so took the opportunity to go through my archives.  This is a sculpture taken in Melbourne Zoo, Australia, from my trip there back in 2010.

My One Four Week 1 Entry

My One Four Week 1 Entry

This is basically how I would normally process this image in LR – its been cropped to remove the black line to the left, removed a bit off the bottom and top to bring the subject into more prominence and cropped a little off the right to add more dynamism that a centralised subject would have lacked.

Globally I left the exposure as I was happy with that, changed WB to Daylight, added a smidge of contrast and upped the blacks a bit. Added a bit of saturation and tiny bit of clarity and a preset that warmed the overall image, and finally a faint vignette.

A couple of local adjustements to tone down bright patches, and add some texture around the eye.

In all honesty as it was 4 years ago, I can’t remember what this statue really looked like, but the warmer gold colouring feels right to me.

Like it?  Hate it?  Let me know!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My One Four Challenge Entry Week 1

  1. John says:

    Great work. 💟

  2. loisajay says:

    I really enjoyed the before and after because I kept reading your edits and going back to see what you did. I liked it before; I love it after! I Thanks for the step-by-step.

    • lensaddiction says:

      No problem, Robyn said to add some commentary with the image so talking about what I did seemed obvious.

      FWIW as far as processing techniques, the MOST VALUABLE investment I made in my education was buying this video series from Eye Voyage

      http://learn-lightroom-5.eyevoyage.com/understanding-post-processing/

      If you are not sure you want to spend the money (I got it on a special deal at the time) he has a couple of free intro to LR post pro videos on his site – this one is 15 min

      http://www.eyevoyage.com/education/introduction-post-processing-lightroom-5/

      I havent watched them but I am sure they will give you a good idea of his style and if it works for you – he radically changed the way I edit, I hardly ever used to do local adjustments but with the amazingly flexible radial tool in LR there is so much you can do now, and its tiny little things that stack up to make the overall difference

  3. the detail you captured on the sculpture and the light is perfect!

  4. Robyn G says:

    Morning Stacey – so glad youre joining us in the challenge.
    I really like what youve done with your first edit and I love the warmer gold.
    Welcome once again.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Robyn, took ages to find the right image but I am happy with my choice. Looking forward to everyones next versions of their images, this is a really fun and interesting challenge.

  5. The link you have to the One Four Challenge is broken, but I found it from her comment. Nice photo and I look forward to each version. Much of post editing is unfamiliar to us so we like to learn more about it however and whenever we can. Thanks! 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks I didnt realise the link was broken, so appreciate the headsup.

      Had some good feedback on my detail around my post pro so will include more text with the other images too 🙂

  6. benrowef64 says:

    The wb overall has improved the image, the tones feel more natural.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes the warmer tones are an improvement, I also added a sunlight preset to warm it up a bit further and that added the lovely warmer gold tone to the statue too.

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting 🙂

  7. Pingback: My One Four Challenge Entry Week 2 | Learning to See Light

  8. As everyone said before, the warmer tone really works well. Nice work, looking forward to the next edit.

  9. Pingback: My One Four Challenge Entry Week 3 | Learning to See Light

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

