My One Four Challenge Entry Week 2

As previously mentioned I am taking part in the One Four Challenge and this is Week 2

My One Four Week 2 Entry

My One Four Week 2 Entry

As far as post processing goes, the previous version of this image, my Week 1 entry that was processed in LR was then imported into Nik Silver Efex to do a Black and White Conversion.

My technique for using Silver Efex is pretty crude, I go through all the presets I like the look of until I find one that works best for that particular image.Β  SE has a lot of its own presets and I have some more free ones downloaded off the net.

The preset I used for this image is Wet Rocks, it is a particular favourite as it works really well with lots of textural detail like this image has.Β  I really like how it picks up the shine on the gold paint, the statue really pops as the subject of this image with this conversion.

Didn’t do any local adjustments, tweaked the exposure and contrast a tiny bit and finally used the Lens Falloff 1 vignette setting which darkened the sky a smidge.

All feedback and questions welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My One Four Challenge Entry Week 2

  1. As you may know I’m very fond of mono!! I love this elephant!!

  2. Robyn G says:

    This totally works!! Wet Rocks is also a favourite of mine in SE.
    Very nice edit here… makes it more punchy and dramatic!! Shiny πŸ˜‰

  3. Carrie says:

    Oh now I really see why you are pushing Nik S.E.,that is incredibly detailed. That shine is lovely!

  4. Sweet Pea says:

    Oh, I have so much to learn…all those initials…
    But I do love your mono elephant and they way the light falls across its body and looking as if it is praying to some sun god!

    • lensaddiction says:

      I never considered the image like that, yes he does look like he is praying to a sun god πŸ™‚ Often feel the same myself on a sunny day LOL

      LR = Lightroom which is the main program I do my editing in

      SE= short for Nik Silver Efex which is the program that does the conversion to black and white.

      Always happy to answer questions πŸ™‚

  5. This is great, I love that SE, it really brings out all the details.

    • lensaddiction says:

      I confess that this image was selected on is potential to look really good in BW, it has a lot of texture and a nice tonal range. Am a bit stuck where to go next tho!

  6. Pingback: ONE FOUR CHALLENGE – NOV WK 2 | WoollyMuses

  7. suej says:

    Love the shine! I too am a fan of SE….

    • lensaddiction says:

      Its such a great program, fun and easy to use and gives such great results. I wouldnt be so much in love with BW without it πŸ™‚

  8. benrowef64 says:

    The black and white toning is really strong and a different interpretation of the image. I like the way the statue has a metallic feel about it.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

