Yachts in Redcliffs Bay

View from Redcliffs Bay

A couple of weeks ago with a friend, we walked from Redcliffs to Sumner and back, with a stop for a drink and a nibble in Sumner.  Was a lovely evening and a great opportunity to scout out photo opportunities.

Today was quite bright and sunny but with enough clouds in the sky to make it interesting, so I headed out to Redcliffs Bay next to the Yacht Club and took a few images.  This one I particularly like the layers of clouds in the sky, giving you a feel for how flat and open it is here.

This bigger yacht was further around and you can see the surf from the mouth of the estuary behind it.  I liked all the shapes of the mast with all the lines coming off it.  Yes the sky really was that shade of blue and the sea really is blue/green like that 🙂

Processed in Nik Silver Efex

Of course I had to do a BW treatment on this image, processed in Silver Efex with a Dramatic preset and then a Landscape preset, didn’t bother to tweak further as I liked what I go above.

I hope you enjoyed a touch of sunshine today, esp those feeling the first fingers of winter reaching out to embrace them up north 🙂

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, LR & Photoshop, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Yachts in Redcliffs Bay

  1. John says:

    Great shot of a nice craft. 👍

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks John, I take no responsibility for the boats beyond capturing them here 🙂 I get terribly seasick so this is as close as I like to get!

  2. ahhh the life on the sea!!! Beautiful!

  3. That first image has an unbelievable sky. How lucky to have a day like that. Oh, and here in sunny Las Vegas Nevada, Very close to Death Valley. And it is currently 49 f.

    • lensaddiction says:

      I think it is because we are a small island nation, so our skies are usually wearking clouds of some kind. It was because the clouds were looking interesting that day that I went out with my camera, and I liked how it showed the mountains (dressed in their own clouds) in the far distance heading off to the north.

      Thanks for dropping by Emilio, I would love to visit Death Valley and see the amazing moving rocks there one day.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

