My One Four Challenge Entry Week 3

Week 3 Challenge Entry – click to embiggen

Ok this week I was completely outside of my comfort zone.  Beyond normal editing in LR and BW conversion in Silver Efex, I never do any other kind of editing.  My preference is for natural realism rather than the creative approach.

So this time I loaded my Week 1 entry up to Nik COLOR EFEX (which hardly ever gets used) and worked my way through the presets to find something that looked good with this image.

The preset above is Midnight – I liked the cooler tones and the soft hazy effect, like I am looking at the statue under the light of a full moon.  Tweaked the brightness up a smidge as it was quite dark and thats all really.

I did want to add a lighter vignette over top of this but couldn’t figure out how to do it in Color Efex, it kept substituting the second preset and removing the first, and I have been having major computer problems and got tired of trying to beat it into shape so here it is, my Week 3 challenge entry!

All feedback welcome!

 

Details on the Challenge are here for those who missed Week 1 and 2

Above are my Week 1 and Week 2 images for comparison

 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to My One Four Challenge Entry Week 3

  1. John says:

    Beautiful work!! 💟

  2. This is really an interesting challenge 🙂

    To me, the one in monochrome looks really appealing 🙂

  3. sariscorner says:

    I can so totally relate to your out of your comfort zone remark. I am more or less the same when it come to my images. I was just lucky that my picture was suitable to make it softer. Otherwise I would also have ended up with just two versions. I went totally out of my comfort zone with what I prepared for next week. So stay put 😉

    • lensaddiction says:

      I have no idea what I’m going to do for the last week, thought I was out of my comfort zone this week but now really not sure where to go with it, look forward to your last entry 😀

  4. Robyn G says:

    Hi Stacey, my first impression is a bronzed elephant and it does have a very midnight feel 😀
    Sorry you’re having computer hassles. Always a pain!
    Go with the flow and fiddle around for next week – in your spare moments, even if they’re few!
    I like what youve done this week 😊

    • lensaddiction says:

      I might even take that step too far and load up Photoshop!!!! I have had a copy for about a year and installed it, and even bought a book but been too busy with studenting in my spare time to invest any time in it.

      • Robyn G says:

        Yes do 😊
        Photoshop is big and doing it bit by bit is a good way to learn.
        I think there’s always more to learn in PS. I know its that way for me. Hope you sort out your computer issues soon.

      • lensaddiction says:

        Thanks Robyn, my NAS that I have all my photo images has been causing me issues and it turns out I need to do a firmware update, but because of the problems I can’t backup the images. When the firmware updates it will do a factor restore and wipe everything!!!

        I have a few things to try yet, but its been a bit of a stressful situation plus my main PC has just had a hard drive die too. Fortunately I am paranoid and have my system setup with two drives in a RAID 1 mirror so all is not lost but its just been a lot on my plate.

        Hopefully will get sorted in the weekend!

      • Robyn G says:

        Oh dear, I do understand.
        Backing up is so important. I only have one backup presently. Scary. Am about to amend that very quickly!
        Good luck sorting it all out.
        Working out the order of things is tricky sometimes, especially when the unexpected happens… and it does all takes time. Hope you get a resolution soon Stacey.

  5. Woolly Muses says:

    I am so pleased to read comments that others feel out of their comfort zone. I am ‘a sharpen,
    crop, light/shade’ if required, person. Also feel like I am stumbling around ion the dark. Oh, well.
    See how it goes next week. 🙂

    I do love your photos though. No idea how to achieve the effects.

    • lensaddiction says:

      I feel a bit like I cheated on this one because I just opened up another software program and played with the presets a bit, I didn’t really DO anything 🙂 Really not sure at all what I am going to do for the last week!

      As far as stumbling in the dark, I invested some time and money (not a lot either) in expanding my Lightroom education with some video courses and it was worth every cent – if you search for Eye Voyage in my posts, I have a post with the details, the guy who does it has a free video entry level option on line so you can see if what he does resonates with your personal style too 🙂

  6. Bastet says:

    I really like what you did in this one … my favorite! I like the sharpness and the intense feel of the photo. A great edit!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thankyou Bastet, I was quite uncertain about this, should I pick something I personally liked or just go with something random to show I had done something different. In the end I liked this preset effect more than I expected, so it got the go ahead 🙂

      • Bastet says:

        I understand the dilemma .. In the end I choose what I like in the edits … and your’s was a great choice, seems silly to keep out our personal taste. 🙂

  7. svtakeiteasy says:

    Sometimes you just have to focus on the experimentation rather than the end result. Not my favourite, but it does not matter!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Entirely true and thats pretty much where I had my headspace, I wasn’t expecting to find something I really liked and that I thought worked well but the point of the exercise was to have a go 🙂

  8. loisajay says:

    This is my favorite entry so far. It has a very warm feel to it that relaxes me. Very beautiful.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thankyou, a few people have liked it so it seems I made a good choice. I shall continue to work with outcomes that I like as well rather than something startling just to have an effect.

  9. Pingback: ONE FOUR CHALLENGE – NOV WK 3 | WoollyMuses

  10. I love the dramatic feel of this one!! The muted background gives me a feeling that something is about to happen!! Beautiful work!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Its quite a different feel from the sunlight images, I guess that adds extra drama, it certainly felt moodier to me than the other versions. Thanks for dropping by and commenting 🙂

  11. This is my favorit by far. I like this dreamy feel, you made smart choices. I don’t know if a ligther vignette would work on this, but you don’t know it unless you try. As for your comfort zone, I think it was in May that I first did any editing on any of my photos. I didn’t think it would be something I would do good, so I stayed aways. After few months of playing around with different editing programs, I must say I am enjoying experimenting and learning new things. I

    • lensaddiction says:

      Wow only a few months, you are brave 🙂 It embarrassing a bit to confess that I have been doing this for about 5 years but until now have never played with the creative end of the scale because my personal philosophy was for more natural and realistic images. This challenge has been good because it has taught me I need to experiment more and that it is OK to play now and then 🙂

  12. coolquilting says:

    I like how the processing gives a lovely lilac colour to the sky!
    I play in my photo-editing programs by just pushing buttons and seeing what happens!

    • lensaddiction says:

      LOL Im not quite at the random button pushing stage but I do use a LOT of presets and then tweak them a bit to see what I get at the end 🙂

  13. Robyn G says:

    Polls next week too Stacey, if you want to include one – your choice 🙂

  14. benrowef64 says:

    I really like how you have kept the metallic toning of the elephant while moving back to colour.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

