One Four Challenge – Dec Wk 1

For those new to the challenge the details are all here for December and links to the original conditions on Robyn’s site.

This month was more of a challenge for me because I currently don’t have access to my full image archive.  So this image was taken out of some original files back when I first got my 40D – my very first proper camera 🙂

The base image used was a jpg as I don’t have the RAW files – this image was very lightly processed at the time, but you can hardly tell LOL

So here is the Base image:

Base JPG image – click to Embiggen

And here is my first Dec Challenge Entry:

First week challenge entry

OK here is what I did all in Lightroom:

– adjusted the WB to a bit warmer
– added a bit of contrast, clarity and vibrance globally
– toned down the brightness and shadows globally
– on the stone wall and the treetrunk I used a radial filter to increase contrast and clarity a little bit to give more texture
– in the pink blossoms in the left corner, used another radial filter to tone down exposure, highlights a bit and added a smidge of contrast and clarity
– increased the red saturation by a tiny bit for some more pink
– loaded a daylight floral preset that warmed up the overall image tones and gave it more of a summer sun feel
– slight vignette to finish

All comments and feedback welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to One Four Challenge – Dec Wk 1

  1. svtakeiteasy says:

    Hi Stacey, this edit definitely has more warmth and what is most striking is the detail in the wall, the wheel, and even the tree trunk which come out a lot more. Nicely done! I like the fact you can isolate areas to work on in Lightroom… I’ll be investigating this software soon! Chris

  2. Very effective processing here… the slight increase in warmity goes well with the color of the flower…

    Beautiful image to start with, any way 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Gosh it’s one of the first images I took with that camera , no knowledge or experience behind it, merely luck, so thanks

  3. sariscorner says:

    Nice choice of image and such a warm feeling in the first process. I am curious what you will do with it in the following weeks 🙂

  4. Robyn G says:

    GoSh, this is gorgeous Stacey!
    I really love the warmth and contrast youve added to the image.
    This is one of those sights you have to stop and see 😀
    A beautiful first version.
    Its great – we all seem to be choosing differently, with no idea where we’re going… Fun!!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Robyn, its a really pretty sight in the middle of the city, just down from where I used to work. One of the first photos I took with my 40D back when I purchased it.

  5. The composition and lighting of the image is great, I am not a fan of the warmth, for me it feels a bit forced and unnatural.

  6. suej says:

    Lovely image as a starting point, and I do feel it has come more ‘alive’ with your processing….looking forwar d to seeing what else you do with it!

  7. Joanne says:

    Excellent! I really like what you did to it. The colors of the edited version are much more appealing and seem much more natural. The image overall has more clarity to it. You can feel the sunlight in that, not so much in the original.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Hi Joanne, for some reason all your posts ended up in my spam folder and I just found them, so apologies. Thanks for your comment on this months One Four Challenge, I did work quite hard on bring out the texture and detail and working on the colours

  8. Carrie says:

    I smiled when I saw your first process. First, for the beautiful pink blossoms (it is a bit grey here lately) and Second, because of the warmth you added to the image. It really is striking, the difference. Lovely. Looking forward to your next week’s processes too.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Carrie, it might be a smidge too warm in toning for the time of year, ie summer sunlight in springtime, but I didn’t like the coolness of the first image at all. Blossoms make everybody happy I think 🙂

  9. The changes you made might be subtle but, overall they make quite a difference. Your original shot is a keeper in and of itself. But your change really make the flowers pop!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Emilio, the addition of many small changes adding up was a lesson I learned in the EyeVoyage Post Pro training video, being able to do small localised touchups is a really powerful ability. Completely changed how I view editing images, and totally in love with the radial tool 🙂

  10. Great image to begin with. At first I liked the first one as is but then as I looked more at the second, I realized that the foreground became more prominent without losing the nice softness of the grasses just behind it. Well done!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Looks like I got lucky and picked another good image to work on this month 🙂 It was the sunlight toning on the grasses that sold me on this particular version of the image, it makes them glow in the peculiar yellow/green tonings that tussock has in sunlight.

      It may have affected the rest of the image a little negatively but Im OK with that too 🙂

  11. This is an exceptional image, the composition is very interesting. The warmth you achieved in your first edit is so inviting, I can imagine myself sitting under that tree.

  12. coolquilting says:

    Love the warmed-up version

  13. Nic says:

    This does have that summery feel… reminds me of four season photos. 🙂 I love that tree so pretty and peaceful.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

