One Four Challenge – Dec Wk 3

Click to see the big version with all the lovely detail

I have a major exam on Thursday this week and so didn’t really have a lot of time to spend playing, which is a shame.

Several people over the last couple of months have used the Oil Painting filter to great effect so this is what has been used here.

It has been tweaked a lot to give that really textural feeling of the canvas (click on the image for the big version to see what I mean).  I wanted it to feel like a ‘real’ painting, not an image that had been photoshopped with a filter.  There is nothing wrong with that style of process, it just wasn’t what I envisioned here.

Finally the colour needed a bit of boosting, so into Color Efex Color toning in Silver to take away the extra yellow daylight glow, and bring out the purity of the pink blossoms.

Enjoy!

All feedback and comments welcome 🙂

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
Image | This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to One Four Challenge – Dec Wk 3

  1. svtakeiteasy says:

    Gorgeous result Stacey, I love the painterly effect and the softness of the blossoms and the grasses on the right… so delicate. For someone with little time on her hands you did very well! Good luck with the exam. Chris

  2. Robyn G says:

    I think you did so well with the time you had.
    I clicked and I love the textural painted feel too – I must tell you, I got the feeling of standing underneath that gorgeous tree!!! 🙂 Looking closer also shows up the beautiful light and shade.
    Love it!!
    Wishing you every success with your exams Stacey 😀

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Robyn, I am seriously considering taking wednesday off for some last minute cramming!

      I only spent about 10 min at the most fiddling but it was only two processes and most of it was deciding where the settings should go.

      • Robyn G says:

        The 10 mins is definitely appropriate for you presently with more important things on your mind.
        Hope you can take the day – either way – again, wishing you well 😃

  3. Gorgeous image… the effects work perfectly with this image and it looks like a beautiful oil painting 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      this pleases me a lot because that was the effect I was after, the blotches of oil paint in the detail of the petals 🙂

  4. leecleland says:

    You nailed this one, Stacey. Beautiful and I have to add, just like everyone else, it does really look like an oil painting when you look at it larger. Good luck in the exam too

    • lensaddiction says:

      Cheers! Im glad I went with the oil painting effect, it seems to work well with this image, and Im also glad its not just in my head and others can see it too 🙂

  5. coolquilting says:

    This is so pretty…and great texture. Good luck with the exam!!!!!

  6. Joanne says:

    Very, very nice. I like everything about this image.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thankyou, I wasnt sure after Wk 1 if I picked a good image but this version has me pretty happy for a 10 min job!

  7. Carrie says:

    That tree! Close up, it is so beautiful in this process. Great work, love your oil painting texture. It does really look great. Hope the exams are not too painful, always such a stressful time…and then it’s done, until next semester 🙂

  8. Anita says:

    Love the textures in this ‘painting.’ 🙂 The blossoms do draw your eye, but the tree, and that hay at the back — they look just as beautiful.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Anita, I had fun playing with settings seeing what they did and saw the potential for this effect and kept playing till I got this 😊

  9. The texture in the picture is nice.

  10. Bastet says:

    I loved the effect last week .. but these pink “paper” flowers are so beautifully romantic … wonderfully done!

  11. Yes! I am enjoying learning how to use to use the photo editors.

  12. I love the textures!! And such a nice subject too.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

