One Four Challenge – Dec Wk 4

The last week for December and usually when people pull out all the stops 🙂  I confess, this week I’m no exception because I have TWO images for this last week but also an explanation!

Image #1 for Week 4 – click to embiggen

This was my first entry for the Wk 4 Dec challenge, in a previous week I had used the Bleach Bypass filter in Nik Color Efex and liked it a lot, so went back to my Wk 1 base image and added it in. Felt like there was something extra needed and played with the Color Efex filters until this blurred effect happened, I liked how it almost gives it a Tilt Shift feel when you look at the smaller image 🙂 THEN!! Lying in bed reading emails on my iPad this morning, I was sent a pre Xmas deal for a Photoshop Artistry Post Processing Grunge style photography course and the samples looked pretty cool.  It promised hours of video training on cool ways to use Photoshop and was expensive but a good deal.  Yes, dear readers, I purchased it.

#2 Entry for Wk 4 – click to embiggen and see all the detail

So far today I have done the first part of Module 1, downloaded loads of textures (inc in the deal) fluffed around trying out new techniques and spent the last 2 hours making the above image! Steps taken: – imported my base image and duplicated the background layer – found a grunge texture I liked, added as a layer with Hard Light blend mode about 90% (I think) – found the watermark in my downloaded files, resized down and then added as a layer with Overlay Blend mode around 80% and positioned in the corner – spent ages trying to find the right text to use – added as a layer with Multipy blend mode around 80% OMG I learned SO MUCH from this course, have pages of notes and have amazing new and useful skills in PS, the course was a gamble but turned out to be worth every cent, and I have barely done 10% of it.  Looking forward to doing the rest over my holidays 🙂

Two completely different images and styles, love to hear your feedback and comments

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All of December images from the very beginning for you to view and compare

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in For Beginners, LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to One Four Challenge – Dec Wk 4

  1. katieprior says:

    Nice set of images for your December challenge. My favourite would be the second one for this week, with the writing on. It has some lovely colours and I quite like the effect you have used, it looks like a book cover. Have fun with the rest of the course! 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Katie, I dithered over whether or not the writing was too much but I quite liked it so it stayed, glad you liked it and thanks for commenting, its appreciated.

  2. Robyn G says:

    Oh you are having fun!! It really shows 😃 The first one does have a slight tilt shift feel about it. The design feel to the second is very appealing with its text overlay and grungy textures.
    I bet you will enjoy doing the rest of your course. Are you finished yet? 😜 happy holidays Stacey!

    • lensaddiction says:

      The course is 72 hrs of video, and I have done about 2 of it so far, so PLENTY to keep me occupied over Xmas holidays. Will be interesting to see how my journey to new techniques goes.

  3. Bastet says:

    I like this effect .. somehow it reminds me of an old post card from the belle epoche .. perhaps found hidden in the back of an old roll-top desk. Lots of stories could be told because of this one. nicely done!

  4. Joanne says:

    I like the second of this week’s a lot. It has a unique distinct “vibe” to it. My favorites are this one and week 2, both of which are warmer. I like Bastet’s comment… you could imagine 4-second being an old photo pulled out of a desk – Great photos suggest, but don’t tell, stories, leaving mystery and questions. Good job!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Joanne, I really like the bit about suggest stories, leaving mystery and questions. I will have to keep that in mind!

  5. loisajay says:

    What a beautiful photo to start. I loved it right away. Then the painterly effect won me over. Ooh, but now the blurred effect. Hard for me to pick a favorite–I love them all! And what a cool Christmas present for you–Photoshop video. Merry Christmas to you!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Merry Christmas to you too 🙂 It was a bit of a splurge but the video series has been SO education, I am only 2 hrs into it and learned HEAPS! I didn’t do a poll this week because I don’t think this is a competition, so long as someone likes one of my images then thats OK with me 🙂

  6. All very beautiful! My favorite is the photo that looks like spring, pink flowers and no writing.

    • lensaddiction says:

      I love blossoms and spring, its a special time of year 🙂 Glad you liked it and thanks for dropping by to say Hi.

  7. coolquilting says:

    Love the soft look of this week’s photo…and the tilt shift effect in image 1. And the online class looks interesting…hmmm

    • lensaddiction says:

      The classes are AMAZING, honestly I have learned so much in just the first few classes which total up about 2 hrs of video. And there are 70 more hours to go!

      If the deal is still available (I got it for $89 US) I would really really recommend it, I feel like I can actually use PS for basic stuff rather than just flail around. I know about the necessary tools and how to use them.

      Sorry Im raving but it was the best investment for setting up my PS education 🙂

  8. svtakeiteasy says:

    Love this version, like a late afternoon bathe in the sunshine.

  9. Woolly Muses says:

    As some others have noted, selection 2 this week is my favourite.

  10. leecleland says:

    Love what you have done with Photoshop Artistry this week it looks fantastic Stacy. I’ve had the course for a while and have found it a fantastic way to learn more about PS but also so much more about the artistic side of using my images. I still haven’t finished the course, there is so much in it. Have fun with it and look forward to seeing what else you do in the following months.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Lee, glad to know someone else is partaking of the benefits of this course. Im going to make a big effort to watch all the videos while I am on holiday, taking PAGES of notes 🙂

      its making me think about digital art in a completely different way!

  11. pike says:

    Your photo is beautiful, my favourite is week 2! 🙂

  12. out of all of them week one is my favorite out of the set. It is a strong image that stands on its own with needing lots of filters.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Ben, kind of you to say. This was an image I took years ago when I first got my camera and never even bothered to process it originally. But with a more educated skillset I decided to give this one a go. Its been recieved better than I thought it would be 🙂

  13. Anita says:

    I like #2 from this week amongst all the versions!

  14. Love the grungy one and all the work that went into it!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

