Driftwood Dragon

Driftwood Dragon

When I saw this driftwood dragon emerging from the sand, whimsy overtook me and I shot it lying on my back, trying to capture his eye against the sky 🙂

Shot details:  7D and 17-55mm, at 20mm, f9, ISO100 1/80th sec, handheld.

Processed in LR5 with some global adjustments, an ND grad in the sky and some radial filters on the head of the dragon to bring out the texture.  Tweaked a little more in Viveza.

Do you see him?

And because I couldn’t resist, a B&W version in Nik Silver Efex, Fine Art Process preset with some tweaking for texture around the head again.  I picked this preset because it faded the sky into the background and bought the subject into prominence.

Oddly when I look at the big version on Twitter it looks soft and out of focus, but its not 😦

Is B&W an improvement here or was Colour the right choice?

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Driftwood Dragon

  1. John says:

    Indeed I do see him, great photo!

  2. loisajay says:

    I really love how the blues and tans in the color picture seem to blend together. B&W is always beautiful for the drama it shows, but for this one I think I prefer the color. On your back??! Pretty darn amazing!

  3. What a great photo. The colour makes it alive. The B & W makes it look like a dead skeleton if you know what I mean. Great photo. 😀

  4. Yes! I see him! I absolutely love drift wood and twisty wood. This is a beautiful photograph!

  5. Boosie Vox says:

    Great shot! Love our west coast beaches

  6. Phil says:

    I prett much always prefer colour to monochrome. (I do see the extra detail in the black and white, though.)

    • lensaddiction says:

      hey Phil, that’s quite OK, most of my work is colour but I am enjoying playing w black and white and seeing the difference, sometimes it’s quite powerful and sometimes it’s more subtle

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

