Exploring Lyttleton Harbour

View from Allandale Reserve with the tide all the way out

Today was a ‘trip out with my camera’ day! Tired of being at home sick I decided to go driving around Lyttleton Harbour which is on the otherside of the hill from where I live.  Not somewhere I have spent a lot of time exploring, which is a shame as it has lots of interesting bays tucked away down rather scary and very narrow roads!

I wanted some old cemetary shots so did one in town not far from where I live and then headed over to Lyttleton but most of the headstones were broken and fallen over, damage from the big earthquakes nearly 5 years ago.

Then I hit the road, driving the very winding tight curving road along the harbour, admiring the views in very brief glimpses. I saw a long jetty in one small bay, and very nervously drove quite slowly down the VERY NARROW road to the bottom.  Unfortunately just as I got there two cars of families with loads of kids also arrived so I only got time to take these shots.

Jetty at Rapaki Bay – click to embiggen

Rapaki Bay Jetty – click to embiggen

I couldn’t decide which orientation worked better, I like the landscape one because it shows more of the lumpy bits in the background 🙂

There was also an old wooden church with a small cemetary that I wandered around and liked this arrangement with the old rusted leaning fence and the long grass.

I couldnt tell how old this stone was, but it looks a good 100 years or so – click to embiggen

Of course, I had to do a couple of BW conversions with Nik Silver Efex on a couple of these images!

Click to embiggen

Click to embiggen

I did drive around to the other side and took some images, and even got a shot of a kingfisher! But its unseasonably cold here today, and my hands are numb, so will post those tomorrow!

 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, LR & Photoshop, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Exploring Lyttleton Harbour

  1. nzsnapper says:

    Nice to see the Rapaki pier open again!

  2. leecleland says:

    Don’t other peoples kids just bug you! Just kidding, but when you want to take photos in an isolated place . . . . . . I really like the landscape shot because of more rocks in the foreground as well as more ‘lumpy bits in the background’ 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      To be fair, Dad did offer to round them up, but I really wanted some quiet time to just sit and….. be with my surroundings, and that wasn’t happening. Instead I drove round the other side and saw a huge kingfisher instead 🙂

  3. Such amazing photos! Very beautiful. I tried seeing dates on the grave stone but much too deteriorated. I would image they would be older than 100 years (in my humble opinion). I look forward to seeing the other photos tomorrow. I just had a brainstorm a few minutes ago that I would like to take a trip to Durango, Colorado tomorrow with my friend for an impromptu and take some photos. I think you have now just helped me make up my mind! 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      I am a firm believer that everyone should take any opportunity for impromptu road trips, they are the best kind in my experience 🙂

  4. Pingback: Exploring Lyttleton Harbour Pt 2 | Learning to See Light

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

