One Four Challenge – Jan Week 2

Duckling Wk 2 entry – click to embiggen

I forgot today was Monday!  I go back to work on Wednesday so lost track of what day it was 🙂  How could I forget that today is One Four Challenge Day!

(click on the link for details if you are not familiar with the One Four Challenge)

Post Processing Steps:

This one was easy, took my base image into Nik Colour Efex, clicked on Bleach Bypass and went for the strong detail option and thats all folks 🙂

I like how it retails a slight amount of colour on the duckling and really draws attention to his head and eye and bill – all that tiny feather detail on his head is noticeable 🙂

What do you think? Too dark?  All comments and feedback welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to One Four Challenge – Jan Week 2

  1. sariscorner says:

    I love it! And I don’t think it’s too dark, but then I also tend to the dark side… 😉

  2. it’s a charm!! I like the processing and the wee duckling!

  3. katieprior says:

    I like this amount of dark too! and he seems so sharp, the detail you have got in his head and especially the drop of water on his beak is great. 🙂

  4. Robyn G says:

    Hi Stacey – I left a comment before, but I watched the iPad eat it 😛
    Love this dear little duckling and the angle of the photo… you can’t help but look right at him.
    The processing is wonderful and appealing – not too dark and the tiny details are still right there!! Love that it was a simple process too. Bonus!
    It totally works 😀

  5. Joanne says:

    I think the background is too dark (my .02), but I love this week’s work on the duckling. The texture is wonderful! You almost can feel it. So tactile!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thats OK Joanne, I know its bordering on a little too dark but I had to go there to get that extra texture 🙂

  6. I love it! The background is a little dark but not too dark. I like how the fuzziness of it moves the eyes to focus only on the beautiful little duckling.

  7. Carrie says:

    That duck bill is gorgeous! So black it shines. I tend towards the dark side too. There are so many interesting details that either get swallowed up or stand out more, when you play with the dark side of an image. I think if the background was lighter it would feel washed out, I like how my eye goes right to that sweet ducks details, especially that bill and those feathers!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Carrie, yes I liked how the darker process bought out different details which is why I went with this variation 🙂

  8. coolquilting says:

    so sweet even in this dark version….not too dark for me!!

  9. svtakeiteasy says:

    Like the darker tones, and the details in the duck. Beautiful, Stacey.

  10. Maybe it’s just my eyes or my computer screen but my eyes are jumping when I look for long at this baby! Might be more contrast than I like, although I do think it’s a good edit!

  11. BWLEtravel says:

    Not too dark at all! The dark tones lend depth of field. Really nice edit.

  12. Anita says:

    You’re right Stacey, I love the detail showing up in this version! And no, I don’t think it’s too dark at all… (But I think you use way too many tools 😛 )

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Anita, Im a bit confused about your comment about using too many tools, seeing as I only used one on this image?

      I use LR as my base image editor, the Nik suite for certain colour and BW effects and PS for doing my fancy grunge mutlilayer creations but thats only a new thing, for the last 5-6 years I have used just LR and Nik only in the last couple of years and not on every image.

      Admittedly you see a lot of use in these challenges cos thats the point, ie to experiment with new post pro techniques 🙂

      Its funny because I see a few people working on images (often not using a PC) and I feel a bit frustrated because they have much more limited choices and options and lack the flexibility to edit with more delicacy and subltety.

      • Anita says:

        Haha, I was only kidding! I was taking into account tools from all of your editing, as you so helpfully enumerate!

      • lensaddiction says:

        I gues everyone uses what works for them or what they can afford, I only got PS cos Im a student as well as working full time and scored the super cheap academic price. Mind you the compromise I had to make was get the DVD just as they released it in the cloud and my software doesn’t get any updates or nifty new features.

        Still I could learn for 10 years and still never master PS 🙂

        And when Google bought Nik it went from over $500 US for everything down to $149 – I only use Color and Silver Efex, should really see if the others have something useful to offer seeing as I have them.

      • Anita says:

        Too bad about you not getting any upgrades, Stacey. 😦 And your last point was what I was initially kidding about – that I’m struggling to work with one tool and here you’re using so many…! 🙂 Anyway, thank you for taking the time to respond to a silly off-topic comment. 🙂

  13. Too dark? I don’t think so! I would have even with a bit more darker around the duck, perhaps a little vignetting? I think it turned out quite nice. I love the Nik collection but find that I have been using it less lately as I learn how to get some of the same effects in LR. One of the things I do hate about it though is that when you export to Nik from LR then get it back you lose a bit of the dynamic range in your photo as you are no longer editing from the RAW file.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes I do the Nik treatment as my last step usually, tho I have started using the radial filter in LR to do my vignettes as I find I can get a more focussed or subtle effect than the presets either in LR or Nik.

  14. I love this photo! It’s not too dark…it’s perfect!

  15. A beautiful photo of a beautiful duckling. This effect really makes the black stripe across the eye stand out.

  16. Strong detail has worked a treat with color efex. I really like this image.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Ben, I appreciate you dropping by to say so, as I mentioned in my post I too really like the detail but was a bit concerned it might be too dark, but I like it like this 🙂

  17. leecleland says:

    The darkness works to emphasise the duck itself here Stacy. A great edit looking forward to next weeks edition 🙂

  18. Lovely, I am so in love with thus little duck. Your simple approach accentuated lovely textures.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

