Lesson Learned – Backup your Backups!

Well I haven’t had to do this for a while – loading ALL my programs onto a fresh new computer install!

Never fails to surprise me just how many programs I do use for all the different things and how many different passwords you need to remember for all of them!

The good news is I didn’t lose any of my images and I have a LR backup catalog copy from a couple of months ago, the bad news is I lost all my email history for the last 10 years (and beyond). Oh and  iTunes libraries for my iPods.

So the moral of the story?  BACKUP YOUR BACKUPS!

I had backups then had issues with the drives playing up and had to reformat.  At the same time as my NAS was playing up and I only had some data backed up on that.

Oh well, could have been much worse, and all its really cost me is time and been a bit stressful.  Not having my email history (and all my contacts) is likely to be a bit annoying but not more serious than that.  I have to  redownload all my PS textures that have been used in my Photo Challenge images, I lost those as well as my challenge images that I have not yet put into Flickr too.

In one way its good because it means a clean fresh start, all the clutter gone from the hard drive, which means my 5 year old PC might be good for another couple of years before I need to upgrade it.

BTW big shout out to Adobe Chat Support, a lovely lady helped me find my LR5 details and SN so I could install it as I had purchased online and didn’t have the disk with the data handy.  Major relief!

Am now pretty much functional and able to carry on as normal, but until I get all my PS textures and stuff back I might be missing from some challenges for a couple of weeks.  Now I can go in and view all the Wk 3 One Four Challenge entries and comment 🙂

Thanks to everyone who sent messages of support and commiseration, it was greatly appreciated!

Remember kids, its not IF your hard drive will fail, its WHEN!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Blog Admin, For Beginners, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lesson Learned – Backup your Backups!

  1. Jen says:

    Wow. Just … WOW. What a mess — so much work in doing all that restoration.

  2. leecleland says:

    Great to have you back and a timely reminder. We do get slack about backing up and we all know we should 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Im only partially back, still not quite ready to work on images in PS yet but so glad to have my PC functioning properly!

      It was annoying as I had a good backup strategy but due to some issues it got all wonky and I paid the price, but its the first time in nearly 20 years of owning PC that I have had a major data loss, cos Im usually careful and paranoid LOL

  3. sariscorner says:

    What a mess…but I am glad to have you back!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks I’m really glad to be back but tonight I took a break from th puter and caught up some essential housework, I even ironed things!

  4. Great photo. I have lost emails several times over the years so know how it feels. Plus have photos spread over several computers. At least my photos from my Mac on on the Time Capsule. Just don’t have the computer to access them. Ex-hubby is holding it to ransom so I don’t ask for a settlement. But have managed with daughter’s old – 3 year old computer. I regularly put my photos onto a portable hard drive – that reminds me – must go and do it. 😀

  5. I have done way more fresh installs than I would have liked. Being a software developer I’m used to a new install at least once every year or two just to clean things up. It does help with making things run better/faster because there are so many other files that get created from your programs and you never want to delete anything because you never know what that will do. My wife’s computer was on her 3rd or 4th harddrive and now the hardware is failing so we had to buy a new laptop a couple weeks ago. That one lasted her about 7 years so it was nice.

    I actually don’t have any of my stuff backed up. It’s not that I don’t care, it’s that I just keep pushing it off. I know I should. Through amazon prime I have unlimited photo storage though. Not sure if I can load up the RAW files or if it only accepts certain file extensions. In any case I’ll upload the hi-res processed files without my signatures.

  6. a timely post!!! Thank you!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

