7min Long Exposure with Lee Big Stopper

Estuary after sunset with the sun behind me – 7 min exposure with Lee Big Stopper filter on – Click to embiggen

It has been a week of challenges again, I had to make an emergency trip to the dentist as it turns out my wisdom tooth removal now has an infection, one script for antibiotics and a bottle of mouthwash later I’m back at work collecting my laptop and heading home feeling awful.

My big PC is also in having its last tweak before it returns to normal operations hopefully so this is posted on my laptop.  The good news is we have a 3 day weekend starting tomorrow!

Enough whining!  Back a few weeks ago I went out to the local Estuary as the sky was looking interesting for a sunset.  In the end it was interesting but looking the other way from the sun, there were pretty clouds and lovely pink and purple tones in the sky.

The tide was going out so I put on the Lee Big Stopper and experimented with quite long exposures, in fact the image taken above was at 7 minutes.  Felt like eternity standing there waiting for the red light to flash on the back of the camera!  And this time I remembered to block the eye piece, I used the back lens cap, it fitted over it snugly:)

As well as the really long exposure, this image also has another new technique, there was a big pink cloud in the sky but it got lost due to the long exposure time and my normal LR processes couldn’t bring it back.

So I played with split toning and it was the perfect tool to bring the pink back into the sky and yet leave the rest of the blue in the sky and water untouched.

I like the interesting foreground and how the eye follows along the shore and back across the image.

It was only my 3rd go out with the Lee filters so happy to have any tips and tricks pointed my way!

All comments and feedback welcome 🙂

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, For Beginners, LR & Photoshop, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 7min Long Exposure with Lee Big Stopper

  1. suej says:

    Well done! I need to get using my Big Stopper more…..

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Sue, yes it does take some planning and a bit of effort, Im lucky in that im only a few min drive to the sea but we dont have a lot of the usual rocks and stuff that give the best effect with long exposures.

  2. 7 minutes of exposure time!!!

    So nice to see the result of the experiment, It’s one really soothing image…

    Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      yes really 7 min, and it seemed like AGES standing there waiting for it. I like the cool colour tones in the image myself with a touch of pink to warm the sky 🙂

  3. Really the smoothness from the long exposure, beautiful picture.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Ben, its a bit fiddly playing with the filters and setting it all up but the images are well worth the effort 🙂

  4. Justin Avery says:

    You can get some nice effects with the longer exposures. Not sure if you have looked into it but you have to be careful at times, especially when it is warmer out. As your sensor remains on it heats up which causes “hot pixels”. Every sensor has them. It’s just a matter of how many. You don’t notice them most of the time for normal shots but when working with longer exposures you may notice little white/red specks when viewing at 100%. There are two ways to get rid of these. One way is to turn on Long Exposure Noise Reduction where the camera will take a photo with the shutter closed for the same amount of time it was open and then use the second photo to remove any of the hot pixel noise from the first photo. The second way, which I think would be more beneficial because it would save time when doing multiple long exposures, is to take a dark photo with the lens cap on and then use software later for the hot pixel noise. One thing I do not know though for the first method is if you need to use the manufacturer’s software in order for it to work because a lot of settings are discarded when importing the RAW file into LR or PS.

    • lensaddiction says:

      THanks Justin, I have heard of hot pixels but not realised that it was cos the sensor heats up. I do have a white spot on my image on the shoreline at the very left but that is a white sign. Do you see evidence elsewhere in the image? I havent looked for them myslef as yet.

      • Justin Avery says:

        It is very difficult to notice any when looking at a photo normal size. They are very small. You have to zoom in to 100% or more to notice them. The largest size it will let me view the photo I don’t notice any. I’ve noticed some with as little as 3-4 minute exposures before but each camera is different. It’s usually something you don’t need to worry about but I’m a bit of a pixel peeper so I’m always looking at the sharpness of my photos at a 100% crop to determine if I want to keep it or not.

  5. Lovely photo – 7 minutes. At least it wasn’t cold. Hope you are feeling better.

    • lensaddiction says:

      I actually had a wet bum 😊 and knees, I was sitting on a towel on rocks on the beach but was below tide line and the towel soaked up water etc.

      Am feeling a lot better today actually, jaw still sore but much less swollen and achy, yay!

  6. Jen says:

    Very interesting — will have to check into the Big Stopper o.O

    But oh, I am so sorry about the wisdom tooth. Really hoping you can be done with all this pain soon!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes the pain has been more than annoying, it saps the energy and limits what you can do physically. I am looking forward to being without it for sure!

      I wasn’t sure about buying my Big Stopper but had seen some wonderful long exposures taken with it so made the gamble. REALLY pleased I did, it has been a lot of fun.

      • Jen says:

        No doubt. You really don’t want to mess with the teeth — such a sensitive area —!!!!

        Some day perhaps i’ll check into that Big Stopper too! 🙂

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

