One Four Challenge – Feb Wk 3

One Four Challenge Wk 3 – remove grey block – Click to embiggen

Several hours ago I wrote this post and then my Firefox crashed and when it restarted I had a virus!  So steps were taken for removal which seems to have worked and then it was off to see one of my favourite comedians – Eddie Izzard – for the first time live.

OK there was no Wk 2 from me as I had to go to Australia for a conference and was too busy and as my plan was to try and remove the nasty grey block in the background, I wanted to make sure my head was in the right space for that 🙂

Post Processing Steps:

1. Open up base Tiger image in PS and muck about with content aware and patch tool and decide that wasn’t going to work.

2. Head back to LR and check in catalog to see if there was another image at a different angle with more background past the grey block that I could use to cover it up, WICKTORY yes there was!

3.  Edit block replacement image with same LR settings to make sure colour tones match etc.

4. Head over to PS, open up block replacement and Tiger images in separate layers, cut out a chunk to use to cover over the block and paste as a separate layer.

5.  Faff around a bit in PS as the size ratio between the two images doesn’t match, the foliage in the replacement image is too small.  Head back to LR and crop image a couple of times and try that version on for size – YAY it looks like it fits!

6.  Cut out rectangle shape to fit over block and put as base layer.  Set tiger portrait as a layer above it and add a mask.  Paint in over the block to bring the foliage layer into view instead.

7.  Faff around a bit with placement of foliage layer.

8.  Zoom in to a pixel level and paint with tiny 2 pt brush around the whiskers and fur on the face of the tiger.

9.  Zoom out a bit and with a larger softer brush at around 20% opacity paint around the face and whiskers area to blend it in better.

10.  Add in a Brightness+Contrast layer, tweak the settings up a bit to enhance the tiger and then add a mask and paint on the foliage to bring the original layer back in.

11. Add in a Vibrance layer, tweak the settings up a bit to enhance the tiger and then add a mask and paint on the foliage to bring the original layer back in.

I was lucky I had another image with a wider angle that had the matching foliage and amount of blur and colour tonings to use as a replacement.

This is the first time I have done such a major “fix” on one of my images, hopefully it looks natural and not obviously edited 🙂

All comments and feedback welcome 🙂  Did I pull it off?

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to One Four Challenge – Feb Wk 3

  1. BWLEtravel says:

    Wow. Complicated steps. The tiger looks great.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Lots of mucking about until I figured a few things out thats for sure but nothing majorly technical. Very fiddly painting the mask in around the whiskers tho 🙂

  2. This one is a top class image and looks so natural 🙂

    The amount of time spent in post processing is really worth….

    Thank you so much for sharing this elegant image of the mightiest animal on earth and all the details of the steps involved…

  3. sariscorner says:

    I love this edition! I am currently missing the last pictures to get a better feeling how they look in comparison but on first sight, even knowing that you did a major fix, I couldn’t tell. 🙂 Good job!

  4. Joanne says:

    Oh great! Definitely does not look “edited.” Looks very natural, tiger and background. Great work.

  5. Gorgeous subject and always good work!! I like this edit.

  6. Really good work removing the block, I did go back and check previous edits and you can see where you filled in.
    Hope Izzard was fun.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Eddie was great fun and a treat to see him live. We don’t get a lot of the really good performers here in CHCH esp after the earthquakes so it was a not to be missed opportunity 🙂

  7. Carrie says:

    I like the deeper crop and the block gone makes such a difference. What a beautiful capture of this animal! Way to work so hard this week, it really shows!!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Carrie, actually the crop on the tiger remained the same, I had to crop the background foliage image to get it to match in size which took me a while to figure out. Yes I had to work hard on this one 🙂

  8. Pingback: One Four Challenge: February Week 3 | decocraftsdigicrafts

  9. Great work. The tiger looks very regal now.

  10. svtakeiteasy says:

    I missed that beautiful creature last week! Very skilful removal of the block. I too went back to see your previous image. That faffing of yours worked a treat Stacey 🙂

  11. KatrinaK says:

    This looks really good. I can’t tell that you removed anything.

  12. It looks wonderful, very natural, I can’t see where you changed the background.

  13. kirsten says:

    You definitely pulled it off!! It appears completely natural. I wonder what you will do for next week’s edit since this one looks amazing?!?

  14. Nic says:

    I think you did a great job. My first thought when I opened the page was what did she do to this image? OH, that block is gone! Great job. After reading your how-to and then looking at the photo again, I looked a bit closer and I’m still impressed. You did great. 😀

    I love Eddie Izzard! I’ve seen ‘Dress to Kill’ several times… cake or death? 😀

    • lensaddiction says:

      I love Eddie Izzard too, he is one of my favourite comedians, so clever and funny. It was a real treat to see him live here in CHCH 🙂

      Thanks for the feedback, my first time with such a big fix and it was quite fiddly in places!

  15. afairymind says:

    What a wonderful edit! It looks very natural and not obviously edited at all. 🙂

  16. Robyn G says:

    I finally made it Stacey 😃 As I sai in Feb, week 1 – I love this handsome boy and the way youve captured him is divine.
    I had to do some backtracking to remember the grey block. Great job on removing it! You’d never know it was there and its not detracting from his face, although I didnt think that in the 1st week. The light is beautiful. Just a really great job! 😃

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

