One Four Challenge – March Wk 1

Dead tree at Catseye Beach, Hamilton Island – Click to Embiggen

Here we are again for March for the One Four Challenge.  As I spent all weekend cleaning and sanding and prepping to paint all the trim in my bathroom (and have yet to START actually painting!) the easy route is being taken for this month.

This is a tree that according to photos in my hotel room, actually used to be alive, which is a bit odd as it lives about 20 feet out into the sea.  Maybe it was blown in on a storm and took root?  It is a mystery but it was something I had to go back with my camera and capture on our last morning.  This was taken after I waded out about knee deep to get a better angle.

Post Processing Steps:

1.  Import original into LR, straighten, crop and lens adjustment

2. Adjust exposure, highlights, shadows, clarity and saturation globally.

3.  Put an ND Grad filter over the sky and tweak exposure down a bit and add in more contrast and clarity to the clouds.

4. Export to Nik Silver Efex – this is the Wet Rocks preset

Colour version after LR5 adjustments – Click to Embiggen

The colour image is nice but I thought a BW would really work well, what do you think?

All feedback and comments welcome!

 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to One Four Challenge – March Wk 1

  1. loisajay says:

    I really enjoy seeing different versions of the same photo. In the color one, the colors of the sky and water really popped out at me (beautiful colors, too!). In the B&W, though, the texture of the tree is what I noticed first. Great pics, both.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Lois, I decided not to bother with showing people the RAW version as the first version, because I always work off the image once its processed in LR. And if I process it first and use that as my base then it gives me an extra week to experiment with too!

      Yes the colour of the sea was amazing, a real sea green, and really stood out against the blue sky.

  2. sariscorner says:

    I really like your choice for this week and love the monochrome version! Looking forward to the next one!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Sari, most people seem to like the colour due to the water so its nice the BW has a fan too 🙂

      • sariscorner says:

        I think people only prefer the colored version because they know how it looks like and they don’t want to miss the colors. I think you have to look at this separatly. It is a powerful picture in monochrome!

      • lensaddiction says:

        Thanks Sari, I worked hard on picking a preset that gave the tree detail and texture and interest, and also included the background but wasnt too overwhelming or flat.

  3. suej says:

    I love the contrast between the greyness of the tree and the vibrant colours of the water and the sky in the colour version best, but agree that there are some nice textures in the monochrome version.

  4. svtakeiteasy says:

    I like both the coloured version with its blueness and the B&W with its detail and texture emphasised.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Im working on a concept to blend the two in next weeks version, will be interesting to see if I can pull it off 🙂

  5. Carrie says:

    I love that water color! What a unique photo opportunity and a special shaped tree. I like the monochrome with how it brings forward all the details of the tree but I like the water color in the color version, both work for different reasons.

    • lensaddiction says:

      The colour of the water was pretty cool, I climbed a small mountain to get awesome views and the colour of the water is quite amazing in those shots too.

  6. I really like the colour version. The blues are both soft and moody, making the gnarly tree detail stand out. The tree looks as if it’s black and white, kind of a reverse of a ‘pop’ of colour. The monochrome doesn’t have the same moodiness.. yet…

  7. SAN_jeet says:

    simple but amazing

  8. Robyn G says:

    Hi Stacey – what a fabulous old tree. Looks great in B&W! Sounds like a tree with some local history 😃

  9. Robyn G says:

    Oh now I see the colour – lovely cool tones!

  10. Jen says:

    GREAT photo — in this case I love the texture in the black and white more than the color. But both are great photos!!!!

  11. this is a fantastic image in mono!! and the colour is great too.

  12. Pingback: One Four Challenge: March, Week 1. A prickly challenge. | decocraftsdigicrafts

  13. I love what you have done this week. Thank you for your comments the other day, I just couldn’t answer due to the problems. I have managed to sort out the basics. Just have to sort out Photoshop.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes I saw your post today, I did a quick look on google and one fix for the problem seems to be turning off the GPU in preferences. That means you cant use some of the 3d filter options like oilpaint but if it works, its better than nothing!

      • Thank you for that. I managed to do what you said and voila it worked. It is quite different to Elements but it will be fun trying to work it all out.
        Cheers
        Raewyn

      • lensaddiction says:

        Glad it worked. There are lots of tutorial videos online, many are free too

      • lensaddiction says:

        You might also try your library for books on lightroom and Photoshop, I have found the Scott kelby ones good to get started with on for lightroom

  14. kirsten says:

    I love the texture that comes out with the B&W. I was wondering – you said you added a ND filter effect. I believe that’s a Neutral Density filter but I thought you had to have it on your camera when you took the pic? Is there a program that lets you add that effect? Thanks 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes lightroom has an nd grad filter built into lr5, not sure about earlier versions. You can adjust exposure clarity shadows highlights contrast ie all the useful things ☺️ I use it a lot on bright skies or when I wan to add more texture to clouds

      • kirsten says:

        Forgive me if this is a dumb question, but where do I find the nd grad filter in lr5? I usually try a radial gradient with the exposure, contrast, and clarity tweaked.

      • lensaddiction says:

        It’s up in the panel where the adjustment brush and healing tool is, I think it’s a rectangular icon about third from left?

      • kirsten says:

        Okay, I’ve been using that one. I just didn’t know it was a ND filter! lol Thank you so much being so patient and answering all my questions 🙂

      • lensaddiction says:

        No problem, the ND grad is a really useful tool and you can really improve skies and clouds with using it with a careful hand 🙂

  15. I really like using wet rocks in Silver Efex, the strong contrast really works with this image. I am not sure how trees grow in lakes either.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes I use Wet Rocks a lot, I have to try not to use it sometimes, its just one that really appeals to me in the effect it has 🙂

      This was growing in the sea and it was VERY salty too!

  16. coolquilting says:

    Love the colour image!!!

  17. www.transformsiberia.com says:

    I am with you, the black and white image is striking, as often turns out. I am crazy about color, a bit of an addict for it, but sometimes black and white focuses our eyesight better on subject, helping us see past the fluff.

  18. www.transformsiberia.com says:

    PS – Embiggen, nice word crafting!

  19. Bastet says:

    It’s interesting how going monochrome gave one the sensation of depth … but also a certain brooding feeling .. like a storm was about to hit full force. Nice go!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks, btw missed you being around the last month or so?

      • Bastet says:

        Well … I posted but I was having a terrible problem with my internet connection and could barely open a web page … esp if it had photos or videos etc. hopefully the problem has been resolved … I’ve been able to use my browser normally and therefore visit and comment.

  20. Katalina4 says:

    The colour of the water is pretty in the colour version, but the moody drama and texture of the monochrome appeals to me more. Also, the tree pops out more from the background in the colour version – that separation between foreground and background is satisfying…
    Wonderful shot to work with.

  21. Both are very beautiful. I love the colors of the sea and the sky, but I also love how prominent the three looks in b&w.

  22. Joanne says:

    I like the black and white version a lot. I think it’s difficult to get the tree to look sharp and pick up the light (great light!) the way this one does, while keeping the background soft, more subdued, less prominent. Good work!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes I found sidelighting like this works well, its actually taken about 7am, only an hour after dawn but it needed that long for the sun to make its way over the mountain peak thats in the way

  23. Such a lovely image, beautiful colours in the colour version. The black and white is very striking.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes they are both getting positive comments which is interesting, its not usually such an even split/

  24. Nic says:

    The B&W is nice, but I really like the color one best. The blue/green tones are just gorgeous. 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes the tropical colours are attractive, I need to do the shots I took from the lookout, they are amazing

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

