Hamilton Island – Meeting the Locals

Sulphur Crested Cockatoo – Click to Embiggen

These gorgeous and noisy birds flocked around the trees in my hotel, coming and going through the day.  I confess to capture this image I did put some biscuits out which they did ask you not to do, as it is bad for the birds and teaches them bad habits.

It did mean I got visited by several birds including this handsome fellow who walked his way up and down the railing on my balcony and posed very nicely for several minutes.  There had been a big rainstorm just beforehand so the light was very flat and dull, and the angle of the light was poor as well so I made some adjustments account for that.

Post processing steps – all done in LR5

1. Adjust exposure, contrast, highlights, whites blacks and shadows globally.

2. Even out the background tones a bit better

3. Local adjustment with radial tool to the top of the head to tone down the bright patch.

4. Local adjustment with radial tool to the beak to lighten the shadows and capture some of the interesting texture.

5. Local adjustment with radial tool to the eye to increase the clarity and make it pop more.

6.  Give the yellow hue slider a nudge to make the yellow in the feathers to be a more correct tone – it really is very bright yellow 🙂

Taken handheld with my 7D mk 11 and I think the 17-55mm lens, I had time to swap lenses and this allowed me to get closer and get a better angle for clearing the background.

All comments and feedback welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, LR & Photoshop, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Hamilton Island – Meeting the Locals

  1. Lovely image 🙂

    Beautiful, use of depth …

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thankyou, I had a 2.8 lens on and think I shot at around F3 or F4 to get all of the bird in focus but blur the background nicely.

  2. kutukamus says:

    Considering the result, I won’t tell anyone about the biscuits 🙂

  3. Beautiful. I do love the colours = the bird and the background work well together.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Just lucky there with the colour blend but I guess they only live in the tropicss and hot bits – does Aussie have any other kind LOL

  4. leecleland says:

    Great shot, though why they don’t pause and pose with the sun on their faces so we don’t have to fix it in LR forever puzzles me 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes it was rather irritating, it was more shadow from the building causing the issue but I couldnt counteract that by a different angle, still it was the closest I got to them in the entire visit!

  5. he’s delightful and dignified( for the moment lol).

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

