At The Waters Edge

While shooting sunrises on Hamilton Island, it was so warm and pleasant even at 6am that taking time to play around was fun to do.

I have seen some great closeup shots of surf as it foams and bubbles against the sand and wanted to have a play with taking those kinds of shots.  It involved lying flat out on wet sand quite close to the surf, which was coming in and a couple of times I had to scramble out of the way or risk getting soaked 🙂

My biggest problem was the angle I was shooting at was really hard on my neck, so I wasn’t as steady as I might have liked.  Also the ISO was bumped up to 250, probably should have gone to at least 400 if not a bit more as it was still fairly dark with the sun just creeping around Passage Peak.

Still it was fun and a learning experience.  I did have to go and change my clothes and have ANOTHER shower to wash all the sand off before heading down to breakfast!

Because of the closeness to the waves and the very low angle I was shooting these handheld.  All images processed from RAW in LR5.

If any one has advice to improve for next time, send it my way!

All tips, tricks, comments and feedback welcome!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, LR & Photoshop, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to At The Waters Edge

  1. loisajay says:

    I think they are all wonderful, but I especially love that last shot.

  2. Jen says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous texture 🙂

  3. I love that lacy surf!! Beautiful.

  4. suej says:

    Lovely surf….

  5. leecleland says:

    Great stuff Stacey and welcome to the wet sand club 🙂 I sometimes bump my ISO up to 8oo and deal with the noise later, the other thing I do is use Live View which sometimes allows me to sit rather than lie in the sand or on the rocks and gives the neck a different angle. I keep both eyes open so I can pull the camera out of the way if needed very quickly. Doing shots like this with a 200mm lens freaked me out if I had only one eye open and it was up to the viewfinder, you think the wave is going to wash all over you and camera 🙂 But it is such fun and very rewarding.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes I did increase the ISO but not as much as I needed too, it was hard to judge what was needed, I should have looked at my settings a bit closer. I like the idea of live view, I so rarely used it tho so I never think of it!

  6. sariscorner says:

    Lovely pictures! Can’t wait for the weather to be warm enough to go to the beach again… 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      I’m not really a beach person but it was SO HOT there you had to take a dip or a cold shower to cool off

  7. debiriley says:

    I really loved these! I sit in the sand all day long and my photos are never as lovely as yours! 🙂
    great images. I just read some info that is useful that I’ll try and see if it helps. thanks for sharing

  8. Ah, the things we do for photos. Great shots.

  9. Hi, I am new here and not even sure how I found this, but I am my family’s photographer and keeper of stories. I’ve been taking pictures since I was about 9 and got my first little Brownie camera! As I progressed and grew up, married, had our children and moved to Alaska, I’ve continually looked for more challenges. In 1984 when we lived in Alaska (Anchorage for 8 years), my sister and family came up to visit and I got my ‘dream camera’ – a Pentax K1000 – and used it as much as I could – until I decided to give the then new digital cameras a try in 2003. I was amazed at how good the photos were and I have never looked back! Sadly, perhaps, my beloved Pentax K1000 sits in my closet. I was a Childbirth educator which included being invited to births. I found that if I used 400 ?? film (can’t remember how it was referred to . . . ) anyway, I could take great photos without a flash. I always got the film developed with 2 copies and with the families permission, I kept one set. I have 4 huge albums of them and after all these years I’m not sure what to do with them. I’m considering scanning them and having a book self-published just for me. Since I have no way of contacting any of those families now, I really would not feel comfortable letting others have access to them.

    My reason, however, for posting a comment is that you have captured several of my loves in one series of photos! I’m simply love the ocean; the waves and sunrises and sunsets! Your photos are truly breathtaking! I can hear the waves and smell the salt water! Thanks for sharing them!

    Is this something that you alone post photos on or are others also able to? Just curious. I love that they were taken in New Zealand – a place we would love to travel to and explore. I’m intrigued with how the north and south parts of it are so different!

    OK! Storytelling done! Carol

    • lensaddiction says:

      Hi Carol – Im not quite sure what you are asking about if you are able to post photos – this is my WordPress photography blog where I share and post my images and learnings. Its free and if you want to you can set up your own blog – go to wordpress.com. It is a great community and lots of support is available. You can also setup a Flickr account to share images only ie no option for wrapping words around it as well. I have both 🙂

      I am glad you found my images and like them, the wave photos were a bit of an experiment but lots of people have liked them so I might have another go to capture my vision better.

      If you want to see more images of NZ then look on my Flickr site here https://www.flickr.com/photos/thebluerose/sets/72157594319419546/ – that takes to you all my NZ photos – I think all are taken in the South Island where I live. Alaska is one of the places *I* would love to visit but could never probably afford it but it is on my bucket list.

      Hope this answered your questions and nice to meet you, thanks for taking the time and sharing your story, I hope you carry on with your photography, good quality digital cameras are much cheaper than they used to be back in 2003 🙂

      • Hello back, I did figure out that this was YOUR website as I follow a few other people at WordPress.com. Thanks for your clarification! I had to smile at your wish to spend time in Alaska! We both have talked about going to New Zealand with the same take as you have on Alaska! We are from Western Washington and something I never realized about my husband until we had been married for about 10 years was that he ‘YEARNED’ to go to Alaska – not on my bucket list at all!

        I*n 1982 when human service jobs were few and far between in Bellingham, WA, he was offered a job in Anchorage that he ‘couldn’t resist’. The pay was unbelievable and that was the main factor for me! We ended up spending 8 years in Anchorage in Human Service work. During that time, one of his jobs took him to SE AK and he fell in love – all over again – with Sitka, which to me was an isolated, very rainy place that I had NO interest in. Due to several circumstances, we moved there in 1990. In looking back, I really do believe we were following the plan God had for us from before the time we met – a very unlikely occurrence in and of itself! Anyway, I too fell in love with both Anchorage and more so with Sitka where we spent 14 years. It’s all absolutely beautiful!!

        We then retired and moved ‘back home again’ (yes, I AM a robust John Denver fan!) to be near our families. We are glad to be closer to them as well as to more access to a variety of medical care providers as we have aged. One of the unrecognized benefits of his job in Sitka was that the State of AK provided very well for its retirees. We have been so blessed with everything, but having unbelievable medical coverage is currently in first place!

        As for starting my own blog, I’m playing with the idea, more and more seriously – not sure what my ‘theme’ would be yet – I have several quite varied interests, but I am playing with the idea. Taking photos will always be in my life! I have truly told my life story and that of many relatives with pictures. I remember how much my 1st Digital Camera cost and now my phone takes far better pictures! Amazing and I never saw it coming! Who knows what will come around the bend next!! Thanks for your reply and I will check out your other NZ photos in the coming days! Blessings. Carol

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

