One Four Challenge – March Wk 4

Entrance to Mordor – Click to Embiggen

And the last week of the One Four Challenge for March!

I confess, due to having to spend all day Friday *and* Saturday as a student (and my first class of the year)  my brain is a little fried, so not a lot of especially creative effort from me.

This week my image from last week was imported into Nik Colour Efex and I applied several different filters on top of each other:

– Bleach Bypass – tone down the overall colours

– Classical Soft Focus – soften the overall image slightly

– Bicolour Filter – add the muddy tones to the water

– Grad Filter – add the dark orange tones to the clouds to match the water

– Vignette Blur – blur the edges just cos I liked it

I am calling this Entrance To Mordor – I think the sky reflects the dark nasty ashcloud, and the warped twisted tree is representative of the damage done to the landscape.

All comments and feedback welcome!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to One Four Challenge – March Wk 4

  1. sariscorner says:

    Haha! Love the Tolkien reference and you are right it has the right colors! I really like this version but I am missing your gallery 😉 I think I still prefer the B&W picture!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Ah I forgot to add the gallery! Problem with posting late at night. Will add when I get home from work, thanks Sari

  2. Sue says:

    An interesting image this time! I think you have a very Mordor image with the colours here 😀

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Sue, after spending two days intensely studenting and 5 hours painting the bathroom yesterday I didn’t have a lot of creative energy left. I did stack 5 different filters in Nik which I have never done before tho !

  3. Joanne says:

    Nice. I like the Tolkien reference and think you successfully captured that theme this week. I think my fave is last week’s because of the light on the tree, which is still there this week but tends to be overshadowed. But this week’s definitely good.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Joanne, I was struggling to come up with something DIFFERENT and didnt have a lot of time or energy to spend on it this time around

  4. svtakeiteasy says:

    Like the ‘darkness’ of this week’s edit and the symbolism. My fav is Week 3.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Chris, not my most involved effort but it was certainly different to the other versions which was my aim

  5. Jen says:

    Ooohhhh…. this is my favorite … love it …. ominous … eeerie … powerful!

  6. I love the entrance to Mordor!!!! Fabulous and spooky- my fave stuff!! it’s my vote.- though all are great! Wonderful image!

  7. leecleland says:

    Love the title, of course coming from a New Zealander it is quite appropriate. This is my fav. definitely dark and brooding and I have never stacked Nik fliters ontop of each other, thanks for that Stacey will have a go myself ’cause I love the effect you got here.

  8. There is a slight feeling of an apocalypse in this image. I really like week 2 as the colours were so great.

  9. Brilliant. The title is totally apt for this image. I think it is my favourite this month.

  10. Carrie says:

    Great effect this week, it is eye catching and a daunting force. I like week 3 for the colors and added effects to the branches, it gives off a beautiful look. What a subject, I still can’t get over that great water color. I have enjoyed this image all month.

  11. Robyn G says:

    Glad. Looked again Stacey – my comment disappeared, from yesterday! 😳
    Wow!! I was thinking Apocolypse, but Mordor is perfect! Love it!! It has such an ominous feel. Fantastic!

  12. afairymind says:

    Love this edit! Its so dark and moody. And I also love the Tolkien reference. 🙂

  13. Nic says:

    Ooo very dark and moody this week! Now that you mention Mordor, yes I see it! Perhaps this is the Swamp of the Dead? Creepy, I love it! 😀

    I can’t decide which one I like best, I like them all! Great job!

  14. Stunning edit and your reference to Mordor goes well with it. I really like all your edits this month, it is an amazing original to start with.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

