First Panorama done in LR6

Blue Lake at St Bathans – click to embiggen

This is a shot – well actually its 7 images shot of Blue Lake at St Bathans when I was there a year ago.

I have taken several lots of shots to assemble into a panorama but the software I tried to do it in quite defeated me and so with this image I never bothered. Until now with the new Pano Merge feature in LR6!

Be warned it is SLOW – it takes a while to assemble the preview and then even longer to actually save it, but it is totally worth it!

Why?  Because I was then able to edit the whole complete merged image within LR as ONE image which was the problem I had before.  I couldn’t figure out how to do that, and consequently colours were patchy and inconsistent.

When I bought my new Acratech tripod head late last year, I specifically bought the one that has capability of working in Pano mode, and I got a rail so I could shoot properly, accounting for parallax, but til now never bothered to set it up.  Now I will.

I am SO happy to have this functionality, as a landscape photographer sometimes to do a place full justice you need to shoot at a certain scale and then assemble the images later as a panorama.  Now with this great new feature in LR6 I can and it WORKS!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, For Beginners, LR & Photoshop, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to First Panorama done in LR6

  1. Karen M. says:

    Very nicely done. The pano looks great!

  2. Carrie says:

    Lovely! I am sure that is so satisfying to know you have the capability to finish this. I can see why you wanted to make it work, the light is gorgeous especially on the water, as is the subject!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes it’s a very pretty place and I have long wanted to put this series of images together and see how it came out

  3. Really nice image, I have only tried the HDR feature atm, I did take a pano shot yesterday to try this feature out today.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Ben, it was the first time I properly shot for a pano, in manual mode, fixed focal length etc. Nice to finally see it a year later!

  4. leecleland says:

    Worth waiting the year for, a stunning place and stunning image.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Lee, yes St Bathans is a lovely place and I was pleased I got up extra early for the drive so the light was just at the right angle for this image. Luckily the wind died down so I got a nice reflection as well. So happy to finally see this image realised!

  5. Well done. At least the Adobe developers are working on decent upgrades.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes there are some really helpful things in there. Im a bit disappointed they havent bought in the option to allocate memory to LR, instead running of the GPU instead which seems to have a performance hit, but maybe they have plans for the next version and need to lay the groundwork.

  6. kirsten says:

    Wow! Great job. I have hesitated about updating my LR, but now I’m convinced 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      If the Pano feature is of use to you then yes its well worth it. On a more every day basis for me the ability to mask out where I want things like the ND grad to apply is SUPER useful.

      • kirsten says:

        That sounds great. Have you run into any issues with the upgrade?

      • lensaddiction says:

        other than the fact it does seem quite slow, esp rendering the first image, and really slow when you do pano, I have had no other issues with it so far.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

