Cradle Mountain and Dove Lake Pano in LR6

Cradle Mountain at the end of Dove Lake Pano of 10 images – click to embiggen

This was the other panorama image I was excited to be able to process in LR6.  This is Dove lake from a small promontory off to the right, with Cradle Mountain in the centre, and the walking path and the other mountains off to the right.

This was 10 images in total and LR6 just blended them perfectly.  Some global adjustments and I did a little work on the Cradle Mountain peaks to bring the exposure more into line with the rest of the image.

Yes the sky really was that colour and not a cloud in it for the several hours I was out walking in it, was a beautiful day, one of my nicest in Tasmania.

I wanted to show a less cliche image of the lake and mountain, something different and I like that this gives some idea of the vastness of the landscape and yet still an intimate look at the plants in the foreground.

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, For Beginners, LR & Photoshop, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cradle Mountain and Dove Lake Pano in LR6

  1. VOW…………..Cool, Calm and Serene. Beautiful Capture.

  2. leecleland says:

    Oh yes, wonderful pano Stacey. I don’t think I’ve seen one of Cradle Mt. before and this certainly gives the viewer the impression of the landscape that this iconic Aussie mountain lords over. Glad you had such a great day for this area, it is truly magical isn’t it?

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Lee, yes I was really lucky with the weather, I had two fine days at the beginning and two at the end and overcast murk for everything in between. I shot a lot in manual to counteract the bright cloudy sky vs the under exposed foregrounds but didnt need to on this day at Cradle Mountain, the weather was PERFECT.

      The next day, when I drove home the whole area was covered in cloud and rain, I think I drove for a good half an hour before I got below it and it was solid cloud halfway down the island til it started to break up a bit at Ross.

      • leecleland says:

        Oh that’s what I like so much about Tassie, you can drive anywhere (well almost) in half a day. So different to the mainland 🙂 And you were truly lucky with the weather at Cradle Mt. that cloud can hang around for days.

      • lensaddiction says:

        I was prepared for all kinds of weather, in fact half of what I took was clothing to account for all weather conditions. Luckily I didnt need it but it was good to have it available if I did. I used my big jacket a couple of times on cold wet days and a rain jacket once but most of the time it was quite mild weather (for me anyway)

      • leecleland says:

        Ah but you’re from South Island NZ 🙂 I would have probably froze. But better to have everything and not need it, than leave out a few things and need them and it spoil your holiday.

      • lensaddiction says:

        Yes I did have a couple from Brisbane who were dressed in puffer jackets at Port Arthur comment that I must be from NZ cos I was wandering around in a long sleeved tshirt quite happily.

        It had been cold and wet and I had a jacket but with all the walking around I was doing I was quite comfortable, and there wasnt any wind. I can tell you that morning of my Cradle Mountain shots it was bloody freezing, and I actually put off my walk for an hour til it got less nippy 🙂

      • leecleland says:

        OMG it must have been ‘nippy’ – bloody New Zealanders 😀

      • lensaddiction says:

        Nippy enough to be nipply even 🙂

      • leecleland says:

        ha, ha, he, he good one 🙂

  3. Very nice work. I took some photos of the clouds forming from the storm and thought about using them for a panorama. Watch this space.

  4. KatrinaK says:

    Very nice! Cradle Mountain was a place we wanted to go to when we were in Tasmania but there just wasn’t time so we missed it.

    • lensaddiction says:

      I enjoyed it, it helped I had a STUNNING day for the day I was there. The other highlight was the Mole Creek limestone caves which I did on the way and took HEAPS of photos there

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

