Touring Tasmania – Royal Tasmania Botanical Gardens

Anniversary Archway – Click to embiggen

The Royal Tasmania Botanical Gardens (what a mouthful!) are nicely placed in North Hobart just to one side of the Derwent Bridge.  I was heading home one afternoon and took a wrong turn and ended up on the wrong motorway, and on the way towards the right one I came across the turnoff to the gardens.  It was a nice afternoon and I had a couple of hours to took the opportunity to wander.

Its on a gently sloping site that gets sun most of the day, lots of landscaped lawn and lots of areas of interest.  I went to the Lily Pond, found the Anniversary Arch (above), Japanese Garden, Rose Walk and the Orchid House and I felt quite serene as I headed home, this time on the right motorway!

Lily Pond – Click to embiggen

I was too late for the lilies but the whole pond area was beautifully planted with much lush and mature growth.  I met a young duck who was having a nap and she followed me down the stairs to the arch, hoping for a treat.  Sadly I had nothing with me.

Much of the steps and pathways were made of this lovely stone, all mossy and green and inviting you to explore further.

Can you see the face in this tree – his giant nose caught my attention and then I saw the rest of it, that trunk is at least 5-6 feet in diameter.

The Archway was a delightful find and I took several images of some of the stone detail.  It was originally in the city and moved out at a later date.  For its age it is very well preserved, not sure what it was carved out of but it was quite fantastic

Detail from the Archway – click to embiggen

Next up the Japanese Gardens and Orchid House

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Touring Tasmania – Royal Tasmania Botanical Gardens

  1. How serendipitous to find this garden. Great photos.

    • lensaddiction says:

      I was going to go there anyway, it just meant I went earlier. It turned out to be my last really fine day in Hobart so it was a good call on all counts. It was a really pretty garden and it was nice to see many locals out enjoying it.

  2. I would love to take a wrong turn and end up at this beautiful garden. Lovely garden scenes and the stone detail is amazing.

    • lensaddiction says:

      It was lovely and I was fascinated by the stone details, if you look on my Flickr page I have some other pix of different details. I wished I had a ladder to get access to more of it!

  3. Leanne Cole says:

    What a great find, sounds like losing your way or whatever turned out to be a very good thing.

    • lensaddiction says:

      I was going to visit on another day but it turned out to be a good call as the weather clouded over after this, so it was serendipity. It was a very pretty garden and not so big that you couldnt visit most of it.

  4. KatrinaK says:

    Did you get to go in the cold house while you were there? I’ve been to a lot of gardens with hot houses, but the RTBG is the only one I’ve been to with a cold house.

    • lensaddiction says:

      No I missed that which is a shame but I adored the hot house and the Japanese gardens – those pix are still to come 🙂

  5. filkferengi says:

    I have a Thing [as Kareen would say] for stone details, which makes it kind of awkward walking down city streets with me. Check out the Oakland Cemetery trips on my flickr page; I got lots of details of mausoleum & tombstone decorations.

    Thanks for posting this link on the Bujold list!

    • lensaddiction says:

      The details were really incredible, i couldnt tell what kind of stone it was but it was very intricately carved.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

