Touring Tasmania – Japanese Gardens

Waterwheel and autumn colour – click to embiggen

The last stop on my visit to the RTBG was the Japanese Garden, and it was very peaceful and serene and pretty with some autumn colour showing in the maples.  It would have been more peaceful if the family of two couples who insisted on selfies plus couple shots in front of each bit of the garden had not been there, but I gritted my teeth and waited patiently for them to move.  Out of *every* shot!

I like these lovely stone lamps, the textures and shapes are very appealing.  As you walked into the garden there was this enormous sculptural water feature.  This image only captures half of it but it was too big to get in one shot.

Maples are always a great show in autumn and there were bright orange and reds making a statement beside a red bridge.

I liked the view across the bridge, framing up another stone lamp and a scarlet maple behind it.

One lesson I have to keep remembering is always turn around and see what is behind you, I would have missed this enormous stone tower otherwise!

Looking back the way I had walked, this is the other side of the waterwheel house.  I like the focus on shapes and textures in Japanese gardens, the firm round green tree in the middle, the grassy softness to the right, the hard lines of the roof and the verticals of the trees in the background, balanced by the strong red lines of the bridge and the fiery orange maple.

If you take the time to just …. be…. and absorb it, I find it quite soothing.

Click to embiggen

Also I enjoy the subtle cleverness in using just the tones and textures of green, done to lovely effect here

50 Shades of Green – click to embiggen

Also a few scenes from the way out of the RTBG

I assume its a tool shed and a bench in a sunny spot with a view back across the harbour

Sunflower Avenue – a lovely planting of sunflowers and marigolds on the way out

Someone with a sense of humour had made smiley faces in the sunflowers, but this one looked particularly angry and creepy to me!

And so we leave Hobart and next post hit the road in the rain to drive the Huon Peninsula, and find the BEST chocolates I have ever eaten!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in Camera Adventures, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Touring Tasmania – Japanese Gardens

  1. Sue says:

    What a great place for a wander!

  2. loisajay says:

    Ha! I love the angry and creepy sunflower! Lovely, calming photos, Stacey.

  3. great photos. We have a Chinese garden here which is so peaceful and serene so I know what you mean. Some people just don’t see what is around them – damn this selfie phase

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

