Double Exposure Effect in Photoshop

Click to embiggen

Apparently this is the Double Exposure Effect.  Its popped up a lot recently on my G+ and Pinterest feeds and it appealed to me, so decided to have a go.

Both images taken by me, the portrait is of a swing dancer from several years ago, and the bluebells are a springtime event at a local park.

Working in Photoshop I processed the portrait using this method  – changing a photo to a line drawing

Then I created a duplicate layer, and changed it to Lighten blend mode.

Bought in the bluebell layer, and added a mask onto the portrait and painted it through using variable amounts of opacity so you could still see the details in her face etc.

Here is a video showing the double exposure process and the example that inspired me originally below

Image by Mark Johnson – click to view his G+ profile

Truthfully mine is a bit of a half assed effort, but I wanted to see if I could grasp the concept.  It would work much better if I really knew what I was doing and better source images!

What do you think, do you like the concept?  Does it work for you?  Got ideas to improve it? 

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Double Exposure Effect in Photoshop

  1. Very effective. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes its a visually striking effect, Im going to have to experiment more i think, and the BW fill seems to work better as well.

  2. Sue says:

    Well done – I have been meaning to try this, one day hopefully I will!

    • lensaddiction says:

      It was harder than I expected but my source image for the outline was a bit problematic but as a learning experience, it was useful 🙂

  3. brenda says:

    interesting…thank you for sharing

  4. Well this is really fun! Thanks for the links too. I will definitely be checking them out 🙂 And by the way, not a half-assed effort at all. I really like what you did, Stacey!

    • lensaddiction says:

      Glad you enjoyed it, it is a cool effect and not one I have seen used around the blogs and challenges I hang out in so I thought I would put it out there 🙂

  5. This is so amazing Stacy. I must try this one day. I love your two images. They go so well together

    • lensaddiction says:

      I wasnt sure about the the shadows on the bluebells in this version – they are caused by the low sun across trees you can’t see but it seems to work OK. Its a nice technique to try out.

  6. leecleland says:

    No half-assed final image at all. Love the idea behind it as I have never seen it before and it is very effective when making the link between two images. Yes there is room for improvement as you say but a damn good first effort and thanks for the info on how to go about it. I can see that having taken images with this idea in mind would help immensely with the final result.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Lee, it feels half assed compared to the examples I have seen online. Yes taking images with this concept in mind would be a really good idea!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

