ABFriday One Photo Focus – June

ABFriday One Photo Focus June – Topaz Glow Final Image

Life has got in the way of my art recently, with having to complete a big assignment for my study this semester, and also study for an exam in three weeks!  Had major issues with sourcing my text book which caused added levels of stress.

However I did make time to enter this months One Photo Focus, where a group of us take the same image and put our own unique spin on how we edit it – details about the Challenge here.

This month I am showing two stages, the final image of course, but also for those interested, the image after I finished editing it in Lightroom, cos there is a LOT of difference and improvement between the original image and what my edited image looked like.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have put the Original Raw and Edited images in a slideshow so you can see the comparison.

What I did in Lightroom:

–  corrected for the lens
–  cropped
–  lowered exposure a lot
–  increased clarity-  adj whites and blacks
–  changed white balance to shade
–  bumped up overall clarity
–  lightened the shadows
– added a slight vignette

That was all global adjustments, I didn’t do any localised ones because my next step was to take the output from Lightroom into Photoshop and then play with some new Topaz filters I had downloaded on a free trial.

My final image was then edited in Topaz Glow – with one of the presets (that I’ve forgotten sorry) that I tweaked most of the settings on anyway to create my final image.

I like the textural, slightly elegant cartoon effect, how it picks up all the details and has a bit of a 3D look to the image.

Comments and feedback all welcome, of course!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to ABFriday One Photo Focus – June

  1. Mary says:

    I like the end result. The Topaz is something I must check out.

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    I really like your end result. Wonderful editing job.

  3. Pingback: One Photo Focus Challenge: Congratulations to Stacy P Fischer | decocraftsdigicrafts

  4. I love your Topaz filters. Great job. Good luck with your exam. Both my children have exams coming up too.

  5. desleyjane says:

    This is a great edit, I like how crisp the effect makes it.

  6. leecleland says:

    Gothic was the word that immediately sprang into my mind when I saw this, Stacey. It is so far removed in mood from the original and I love it.

  7. I like the topaz effect on the building as it really makes all the lines pop. A nice idea for the picture.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Ben, I really was just playing with the Glow Filter but quite liked this effect so decided to stop there. I like how it made the edges stand out a lot too.

  8. KatrinaK says:

    I really like what you’ve done with this one. The house looks more like it is a drawing than a photograph.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Yes the detailing on the edges gives it quite a different feel. i was just twiddling with the settings but when I got to this I went “STOP! Thats a good one :)”

  9. Pingback: Happy Anniversary ABFriday/One Photo Focus! | Visual Venturing

  10. Never used Topaz Glow before, Stacey, but I’ll have to check it out. This is a really fun “after” photo, with all the accentuated lines, angles, and even the funky blue sky – absolutely befitting Mork’s house! Thanks for taking time out of your hectic schedule to participate in the celebration – I’m honored! And I do hope your exam goes well 😃

    • lensaddiction says:

      I hope my exam goes welll too and thanks. Topaz offers free 30 day trials for all their filters and I was happy to give that a go, and Glow was totally my favourite, I found it the most interesting and also the most flexible, it had HEAPS of sliders and options to tweak

  11. offshoots12 says:

    I love the 3-D look to this. Great edit!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!