Exam Completed – time for the fun stuff

I got 91% on my assignment which is great and I stayed for the full 3 hours in the exam – I finished in about 2 1/2 hrs but then took time to check and edit stuff.  First time I have ever stayed in an exam the full time!  I wrote HEAPS and my hand and arm are still aching.

Good news is I am now FREE to play and do FUN STUFF again!!!!

To celebrate I bought a huge texture pack for playing with digital art, its still downloading so while my computer was on I decided to play. The image above is a rather interesting chair designed in Italy and was on display and for sale at a large flower show I went to a couple of years ago.

I also took a closeup of the perfect round bottom and legs and feet and this is what it looks like now

Closeup of the bottom of the chair (see what I did there!) – Click to embiggen

Processing Steps:

1. Find the right image – harder than I expected, this was about my third go

2.  Add the writing parchment layer – blended with linear burn at 99%

3.  Add an dark orange grunge layer – blended with colour dodge at 52%

4.  Add a grunge frame – by now around the edges of the chair were completely black and needed a little texturing, so I added in a Grunge Frame from Shadow House Creations – this is now Layer 2

5. Still wasn’t quite right so I bought in the same Grunge Frame, inverted it colourwise, turned it around so the textures were different  – blended with Hard Mix at 27% – this is now Layer 3

(What were Layers 2 and 3 are now Layers 4 and 5)

I learned a new trick with this, you can have your File Directory open in a second window from PS and DRAG the file across!  Not only that, you can tweak the settings to see if it works and then decide if it does or not.  Much quicker way of dabbling with options than the other way I learnt!  So many different ways to do things in PS

I like how its not entirely clear what you are looking at – I would have liked a little more definition down the lines of the calves and ankles.  Possibly could paint a diffuse mask in around that area to soften the effect a bit?

LIKE IT?   HATE IT?  TELL ME ABOUT IT 🙂

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Exam Completed – time for the fun stuff

  1. kirsten says:

    Yay!!! Congrats on finishing your exam…fun stuff here you come! I like the texture you added.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Kirsten, it wasnt quite the look I was after but it was fun playing.

      • kirsten says:

        I often have more fun playing than I do actually producing something 🙂

      • lensaddiction says:

        I got an outcome that I liked and learned some things while I was doing it so thats good. Im going to get back stuck into the Fine Art Grunge course and try and get on top of Module 3 over the next week or so – my biggest problem now is its so cold here at the moment, and my big puter is in my bedroom which takes ages to get warm even with the fire lit so my hands get cold. But my laptop is crappy and cant run PS plus I like the two monitor setup I have on my big PC.

        I will just have to snuggle into my sleeping bag to keep warm 🙂

      • kirsten says:

        I love the entire learning process. I often learn more from my mistakes than my successes! I’m work on Module 3 right now and really enjoying it. They just offered the class a great deal on a huge package of stuff from Design Cuts. I downloaded it last night. I can’t wait to play with it. I hope you keep warm. We are having the opposite problem over here – blazing hot :-(.

      • lensaddiction says:

        Yes I got the Design Cuts deal, I really only wanted some of it, but it was too good a deal to miss and I might eventually use some of the other stuff once my skills get better at blending different elements into an image.

        Im looking forward to spending time on my bobbin and lefkara lace, still got lots of learning to do there and my quilling as well.

      • kirsten says:

        I only wanted some of it too, but having bought digital scrapbooking supplies in the past I knew the price was an amazing deal for all that stuff. And who knows maybe it will help me be more creative. If you don’t mind me asking, what are “bobbin and lefkara lace” and “quilling?”

      • lensaddiction says:

        Check out the Handcrafts menu or category, there are posts there on bobbin lace and quilling 😋

  2. desleyjane says:

    There is a cafe in Brisbane that has these exact chairs. Although I suspect they are replicas. I find your treatment interesting – you’re right, it really disguises what it could be!

  3. Very cool work. Where did you get your grunge texture packs? Love the textures. All the best for your results

  4. loisajay says:

    Congrats on your exam–let the fun begin!!

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

