Experimenting with Photoshop Fine Art Grunge

Using Custom Brushes and Layers in the PS Fine Art Grunge style – click to embiggen

I know this has been mentioned several times, that I signed up for the PS Fine Art Grunge course a few months ago, and its changed my life in relation to being able to use Photoshop – not just creatively, but AT ALL!

Well over on Lightstalking they are promoting the course with two free videos, one on Grunge Styling and the other on Custom Brushes  (and don’t tell anyone but it looks like the course is on special for $97 again).

These videos are not part of my course, I think they have been developed as a taster for presentations etc.  Of course I lay in bed with my iPad and watched the Custom Brush one this morning and was enraptured with the possibilities!

Of course I had to have a go.  The image above is the my finished experiment, and I’m pretty happy with it as a beginner attempt 🙂

Post Processing Steps:

1.  Find the right base image, import it and adjust the colour to a teal blue/green colour

2. Copy the later and apply Nik Color Efex Bleach Bypass  – set blend mode to Vivid Light and opacity at 94%

3. Add a layer, fill with white, add a mask and paint in with some grunge brushes I had downloaded from the course – blend mode Hard Light at 58%

4. Add a second layer above the green/blue background, fill with white, add a mask and paint in lightly with a big grunge brush a couple of times to get the colour to come through – blend mode Screen at 34%.

Also paint in with some large tree brushes.

5.  The sky is now bright glaring white, so because I suck at selection tools I added in a grey texture as a new layer at the top and painted in a mask to bring the grey textured background in and give it more of a haunted house look – blend mode Normal at 100%

It probably took me a good couple of hours at least to do this, given I spent an hour on another image just getting my head around the process.  Choosing the right base image is a key part of this exercise, one of the first important things I learnt.

This was a fun exercise, it taught me several new skills:

– how to create custom brushes
– that you can change the ANGLE that your brush is applied at
– using ( and ) keys to adjust the brush size quickly- colourising a layer and painting through at low opacity with a textured brush has a really individual effect

Here is the original photo processed in LR6 for comparison

Its  very different from the one above, personally the first one feels a bit like a insane asylum from a gothic horror movie, expect lightning to crash any moment 🙂

Like it?  Don’t like it?  Tell Me About It!

About lensaddiction

Mad keen photographer figuring it out as she goes!
This entry was posted in LR & Photoshop, Waffle and Burbling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Experimenting with Photoshop Fine Art Grunge

  1. loisajay says:

    I love the grunge look but what I really love is your personal description of what the first photo looks like! 🙂

  2. Very gothic looking. Great information to your processes too.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Raewyn, I had a lot of fun playing with this but it was more complicated than it looks. Of course PS always is!

  3. kirsten says:

    It is so fun to see you using some of the same techniques I’m learning in the Photoshop Artistry class too. I think you did a great job – your description of the first photo is priceless. I love creating my own brushes in Photoshop. You also did a great job at explaining your processing steps.

    • lensaddiction says:

      Thanks Kirsten, I admit I cheated because I didnt actually create any custom brushes for this cos I have downloaded HEAPS so i used those, but I am getting to the stage where I feel like I want to start creating my own grunge backgrounds, and now I have an inkling of how that can happen 🙂 Its quite exciting, I can actually say with a smidgeon of truth that I can use Photoshop!

      • kirsten says:

        That’s exactly how I feel now that I’ve been taking the class. I didn’t really know much about how Photoshop worked except for specific projects I wanted to work on. I would google how to do them 🙂 I look forward to seeing the backgrounds you end up creating!

  4. Martha Hamilton says:

    I love it. I might have added some dark storm clouds in the sky but that is just me.

Love to hear your thoughts on my post!

